Tuba Ayhan's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 2 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Tuba’s full profile.

Overview

  • 12 references 8 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Turkish; learning Dutch
  • 34, Female
  • Member since 2012
  • phd student
  • No education listed
  • From Ankara, Turkey
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

**** currently i live with my family so i cannot accept guests ****

ABOUT ME

I have never bored of being a student! Always wondering something like 'how this machine works', 'how that meal is prepared', 'which groups use a special secret handshaking'...
I went to science high school, so maths and science means a lot to me (not only an occupation but also a hobby) since then. That is how I end up as an engineer. I was a research/teaching assistant in Istanbul, and I am now in Leuven. I had the opportunity to study/work abroad a few times for short terms, and I enjoy those kind of travels which i can act like a local.
Although I am not very sportive, I can walk all day long, does not matter inside a crowded city or along a river.
Besides from that i like spending time at home too. (Is it a right thing to say in a place full of travelers :)) I like domestic activities like cooking (including preparing my own yogurt) and knitting. I also like reading. Reading realistic novels, history, modern stories..

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Joining events (rarely) and hosting. And finally surfed in Canada :)

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Not much. A friend in Brussels invited me to a CS gathering and that is how i met CS. I meet people for a drink, try to hang out in Leuven, host a few surfers and made some friends in Canada.

Interests

Literature, cooking, nature walks. Yes, does not sound very exciting but that is what i like. I enjoy talks and discussions on specific subjects, some may call them geek talk :).

  • literature
  • cooking
  • drinking
  • electronics
  • reading
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • knitting
  • engineering
  • history
  • mathematics
  • science
  • mountains

Music, Movies, and Books

Jack London, Dostoyevsky, Simone de Beauvoir, Emma Goldman, Sartre, Albert Camus, Bertholt Brecht, George Orwell, Necip Mahfuz, Yaşar Kemal, Elif Şafak ...
Recently watched and loved: Black Swan, Once upon a time in Anatolia, La Pianiste (yes, this one is older)

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Nature can be amazing many times. The most amazing one i did was to sit a tree just by a hillside and watch the other mountains.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach cooking (and electronics and maths, if you are interested during your travel, teaching electronics was what i did for living :)). I would like to share my knowledge about Leuven, Belgium and Turkey or other places that i visited and lived. It is difficult to make a list, usually it comes out while we are just talking.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, France, Germany, Netherlands, Spain, Turkey, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

Belgium, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see Tuba’s full profile.

My Groups