Logo orange

Tyler Andersen

Redding, CA, United States

Not Accepting Guests

Last login about 4 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Tyler's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 25 Positive References
  • Fluent in English; learning English, Spanish
  • 66, Other
  • Member since 2007
  • Surveyor
  • BA SFSU
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To provide a safe comfortable place for fellow travelers!

ABOUT ME

Graduated college 1974. Worked in the North Sea oil patch for about 3 years. Had Europe as my backyard and got to see a lot of it(Holland, Germany, Sweden, Denmark, Norway, France, Austria, Italy, Spain, Greece..). My bro and I left London and traveled to India, Hong Kong, Australia, New Zealand, Tahiti, all the Hawaiian islands, then home. Got called to work the New Zealand Maui A platform for a year. Got home, married and eventually settled here in Redding.
Drove big rigs cross-country. Had a full line pet store in Quincy, CA for about 3 years. Sold the store and left Quincy for Redding.
I am retired from Caltrans surveys and right of way.
Love to play my 12 string guitar in my spare time.

Hey! I'm the Wife, very much still in love with the man described above. He loves me, treats me heavenly and we get along well enough to travel the world. We are a family of 4. Tyler, Buster and Daisy our 4yr chihuahua puppies, oh and ME. 'Marsha spends her time watching soap operas and eating bonbons.'(not really). {He secretly believes this so I bought some one day and surprised him...lol} I enjoy volunteering at our local library as a computer teacher and at the new local Behrens-Eaton Museum. I also enjoy helping my Mom and shopping with her.
We are Christians. We respect all peoples beliefs.

PHILOSOPHY

Do it while you can!
Tell the truth. It's much easier!
Laugh it's healthy! (my 2 cents, the wife)I live my life to glorify God and help others find their way if they ask. Sometimes I tell them whether they ask or not!! oops.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Our house is available for 2-3 days(?) to fellow travelers. International travelers get first choice!! You must contact us prior to your visit!(I think that is rather obvious). Weekends are best so we would be able to show you around. We like our city. Coffee is good too if you are just cruising thru and need a break from the road.

We were hosted throughout New Zealand and Australia.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Surfed 6 hosts in New Zealand and had a wonderful time meeting the locals and gleaning from them their local secrets. We stayed in 2 non-CS homes also.

We have met some exciting people and it is absolutely incredible that some of them know other people we knew 30 years ago in New Zealand!!

Had a great experience CSing in OZ for two months. Only got to surf with three families as we were traveling with another couple. 4 surfers is quite a bundle, kudos to those that took us in.

Interests

We enjoy traveling and meeting other travelers.
I like to fish and have a few good 'secret' spots that only a few thousand know about...lol
Stargazing, Golfing, Google Earth, Computers. I play guitar...country western, rock n roll, christian songs.

I {Marsha} don't do outdoors too much, the sun just wears me out and burns me up! However, I do love BBQ's, friends to visit and just living life as full as I can.

Music, Movies & Books

MOVIES-King Kong, The Incredibles, The Departed, Toy Story, Jumpin'Jack Flash, Monsters Inc., Shrek (all 3), Faith Like Potatoes.
BOOKS- Bible, Clan of the Cave Bear Series,LOTR plus The Hobbit, Grisham, Dan Brown, Ludlum, Koontz, Patricia Cornwell, Madelaine L'engle.
MUSIC-Rock N'Roll to Classic. (No rap or grunge)

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Worked on oil platforms in the North Sea, Mexico and New Zealand. Saw some pretty humongus seas, but the best or nastiest seas were on the Tasman Sea....80 foot seas...huge!
Festival de San Fermin...Pamplona. Way cool!
The coral and fish at the Great Barrier reef!

Well, I married Tyler that was amazing and still is. I saw and rode an elephant and discovered that they have hair! I've jumped off a 25 foot bridge into the water, it was COoooold water. I know that is 3, I like to push the envelope.

Teach, Learn, Share

Want to learn the locals hotspots? We can teach you about California. We are both computer literate and love to share that knowledge. We enjoy going out for a nice meal and an evening of communication/dialog. We enjoy cooking at home too if you need a home cooked meal. What do you want to learn we might know it?

Countries I've Visited

American Samoa, Aruba, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Canada, China, Croatia, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Greenland, India, Italy, Mexico, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Puerto Rico, Spain, Switzerland, United Kingdom, United States, Vatican City State, Venezuela, Virgin Islands, British, Virgin Islands, U.S.

Countries I've Lived In

New Zealand, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Tyler's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile