Tyler Maldonado's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login about 1 year ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Tyler’s full profile.

Overview

  • 5 references 2 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Spanish
  • 30, Male
  • Member since 2011
  • English teacher (temporarily), editor, musician, student.
  • UC Berkeley, English.
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To learn to live life in the most fruitful way possible. Find something in nothing, turn common opportunities into golden ones, and remember to keep in mind all that I have to be grateful for.

ABOUT ME

I enjoy all kinds of things from good conversation to good beer, hiking in mountains as well as strolling along beaches, reading, writing, and hitchhiking, playing the guitar, drums, and singing. I'm always learning and reflecting, so I have the capacity for subtle change on a daily basis. The best and only way to truly get to know me however is to meet me, which I encourage you to do :)

I'm quite independent, but also definitely not a loner. My best experiences are often either with friends who I've shared things with in the past, or in moments I can share a story of something I've done alone with someone else. Additionally, I'm very community-minded, and often not happy unless I'm contributing at least as much as I recieve from others. This leads me sometimes to pressure others to see ways in which they receive from the world without contributing to it, and can sometimes rub people the wrong way. I do it out of love, not with condemnation, as more awareness often leads to more gratitude and compassion.

When we meet up, I look forward to hearing all about you. Until then!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I like to meet people and CS can be a great way of getting in contact with other open-minded and adventurous people. I've found that even though everyone desires adventure, not everyone is willing to be as open as they need to be in order to truly experience life. But the people on CS tend to be a bit more ready for it.

Interests

Learning new things is my greatest addiction. If there's something in front of me that I haven't learned or figured out I don't step away. If there's an answer, I will sit and puzzle a problem out for as long as it takes. Chances are that if it can teach me something new, I'm game.

  • social action
  • music
  • entrepreneurship
  • creativity
  • exploring
  • wandering
  • social enterprise
  • ideas
  • community

Music, Movies, and Books

Books - Dostoyevsky's Notes from the Underground, Crime and Punishment
- Alexandre Dumas' The Three Musketeers
- Jack London's The Call of the Wild and The Sea Wolf
And others.

Music - Iron and Wine (Indie/folk/blues)
- Thrice (Indie/rock/screamo/hardcore)
- J Cole/Kendrick Lamar (Rap/Hip-Hop/Gospel/Soul)
- Red Hot Chili Peppers (Funk, Rock)
- Fleet Foxes (Indie, Choral)
- Mozart/Beethoven (Symphony)
- Chopin/Debussy (Solo Piano)
- Marvin Gaye (Soul, blues, motown)
- Immortal Technique (Rap/Hip Hop/Lyrical)
- Miles Davis, Coltrane, Brubeck (Bebop Jazz)

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I've wandered into a dark building alone and slept on a stool in the dark corner of a damp, dirty, musty stairwell. (no other choice)

Teach, Learn, Share

I can help you to see things in new ways, if you're willing to go there. I'm an avid reader.

I'm a great talker and can bond with just about anyone, because almost everyone I meet has something in common with me.

I'm a good listener also, but I get turned off by people who only talk and never listen themselves.

What I Can Share with Hosts

My insights - I like to discuss real things with people. Talk to me about anything.
My ear - I'm a great listener and don't shy away from really any topics.
My cooking - I will prepare breakfast and coffee in the morning unless host prefers otherwise.
More - I'll usually look for and find some unforseen way to contribute.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Bahamas, Cayman Islands, Costa Rica, Czech Republic, Germany, Latvia, Lithuania, Mexico, Poland, Puerto Rico, Russian Federation, Scotland, Slovenia

Countries I’ve Lived In

Germany, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Tyler’s full profile.

My Groups