Wants to Meet Up

  • 80% response rate
  • Last login 3 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Tyrsojoy’s full profile. It’s free!


  • 54 References 16 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Korean, Spanish
  • 30, Male
  • Member since 2008
  • Postdoc
  • PhD in Astrophysics
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 65% complete

About Me

I just recently completed requirements for my doctoral degree in Astrophysics so I now have a lot more free time to host and hang out in the city.

My studies center on building telescopes so I do astrophysics by day and find adventures by night. I'm pretty relaxed and know the city well, looking to check a last few things off my list before moving back to the West coast. I also rock climb, play soccer, and do a bit of swing dancing in my spare time. Appearance wise, I'm a goofy 6'2" red head, hard to miss in a crowd.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I really love the community in which I have found some really great friends over the years. I used to be very involved both in surfing and in hosting but less so the last few years due to both living circumstances and being too busy, which is lame but happens sometimes. Hoping to get a bit more involved again!


The great outdoors, friendly people, relaxing, good times, etc. Also love soccer, climbing, and skiing, mmmmmmmmmm......
Food and drinks are up there, looking forward to a summer of hanging out in backyards, porches, etc. with home cooked food and good brews.

  • dancing
  • swing dancing
  • dining
  • cooking
  • drinking
  • movies
  • eating out
  • outdoor activities
  • surfing
  • skiing
  • rock climbing
  • soccer
  • science

Music, Movies, and Books

Movies: Monty Python, Harold and Maude, anything Meg Ryan, Fight Club, and quite a few more.
Music: Pretty open to anything, seriously dig blues though.
Books: NO TIME TO READ ANYTHING BUT PAPERS! grad student life....
IF I do find time, a whole lot of SciFi, and whatever friends and family recommend.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Hitchhiked with a very nationalistic Montenegran at 3 in the morning and we drove though some of their most impressive canyons and valleys under a full moon, was beautiful. He was also amusing as the English he knew was from movies and consisted mostly of cursing.

Teach, Learn, Share

I'm an Astrophysicist so I can tell you about anything that's up. Also a good skier and rock climber so love chatting about those. And cooking, love to cook, haven't had much time to experiment lately but always up for throwing something together.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I enjoy hanging out and chatting about science, food, and cultures around the world. Always looking to share what I know and learn a thing or two myself.

Countries I’ve Visited

Antarctica, Argentina, Austria, Cambodia, Canada, Chile, China, Croatia, Germany, Hungary, India, Israel, Japan, Laos, Montenegro, New Zealand, Poland, Serbia, Thailand, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

South Korea, United Kingdom, United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    10 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Tyrsojoy’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups