Logo orange

Ulrike's Groups

Ulrike Scholtes

Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands

Not Accepting Guests

Last login almost 2 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Ulrike's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 2 Positive References
  • Fluent in Dutch, English, German; learning Spanish
  • 29, Female
  • Member since 2012
  • Master student anthropology
  • Academy of Arts, Arts and Culture, A...
  • From Potsdam, Germany
  • Profile 65% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

For my masters research, I will travel to Japan to do fieldwork on Japanese body practices.

ABOUT ME

Before I moved to Amsterdam, to study anthropology, I lived in Berlin and worked as a freelancer, mainly in graphic design. I studied arts and education in Maastricht (Holland). After my studies, and before moving to Berlin, I set up a small company with some friend. We developed bio-degradable furniture, maintaining the cradle to cradle philosophy (an idea that has at its basics that waste equals food). Back then, I also developed a project that focused on the empowerment of young people, with limited future prospects. With my colleges and friends I applied this project in South Africa and Guatemala.
I always want to study and work on topics I am really passionate about. My interests in arts and people is always combined in the things I do. Obviously, one of my favorite activities (and the thing I spent all my money on :) ) is traveling. I also love dance, yoga, food, music and physical theater.
At the moment, my research on Japanese body practices, occupies most of my time and preferably my life will continue like this :)

PHILOSOPHY

Everything is already there...

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I joined couch surfing before, when I lived in Maastricht. Back then, me and my roommates had a lot of visitors from all over the world. I really enjoyed having people stay on my couch and to stay at people's couches. It is the best way to enjoy a stay in a different country and city. I only had great experiences, and I think that people who couch surf have at least one thing in common: the openness and will to really encounter different kinds of people, which is, in my opinion, the best way to learn about and enjoy life.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I couch surfed in many different cities in Europe (among them Vienna, Budapest, Munich, Athens). When me and my friend traveled to Guatemala, we also couch surfed in Guatemala city for a week. It was the best way to get to know the country, before starting our project their. The family we stayed with, included us in all of their activities, took us to great places and introduced us to amazing people. We actually felt like being part of the family. Within days, I felt at home in a country and culture I have never experienced before. I love that about couch surfing. It gives you the opportunity to be welcomed in a country, far away from home, but also to welcome people in you own country, which makes you appreciate your own country, culture and activities over and over again. (For some references: check the profile of my former roommate and travel buddy Ilse Grob in Nijmegen: We used to share an account).

Interests

Traveling (obviously), social sciences, arts, music, dance, physical theater, yoga, food.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

I have a lot of amazing memories when I recall the places I have seen: Tikal Maya temples in Guatemala, the Golden Gates in South Africa and the Himalaya Mountains in Nepal. To me the most amazing moments were those, that I was able to share with other people.

Countries I've Visited

Guatemala, Mexico, Nepal, South Africa, Suriname

Countries I've Lived In

Germany, Netherlands

Join Couchsurfing to see Ulrike's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile