Urban Mislej's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 64% response rate
  • Last login about 7 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Urban’s full profile.

Overview

  • 246 references 214 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Slovene; learning English, Italian, Spanish
  • 28, Male
  • Member since 2013
  • No occupation listed
  • Gimnasium of Postojna
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

~ Recent graduate from the field of Anthropology and Geography in Ljubljana, Slovenia.

~ On Couchsurfing for more than a decade of my life, met many amazing people and so many advantures and stories to share. 🙏

~ Visited 60+ countries on 4 continents.

~Self proclaimed Erasmus guru 😂 💕, done 40+ short term youth exchanges, training courses, conferences, four long term Erasmus projects in Croatia, Spain, Estonia and Argentina. Done one year European Solidarity Corps in Estonia.

~ I absolutely love the randomness of Couchsurfing, and I fully go with flow of the hosts. Chilling whole day in a park? Sightseeing everything? Meeting random relatives? Random uncle getting married? Taking a boat to jungle beach? Hitchhiking together with my host to another country? You name it, I've done it, and if I haven't would love to try. ❤️

~Introverted extrovert, love being with people but also need a lot of time being alone. I found travelling solo to bring perfect balance in that regard and Couchsurfing is also more enjoyable like that.

~ If you want I can prepare my impro soups and stews to my hosts. Positively featured in couple of references. 🥰

~ I travel with hitchhiking, buses, trains, planes. I love to combine and love to make big international circles. I almost never return on the same road, except when revisiting people and even then will probably come flying from some obscure destination.

~ I love boats, expecially public ones. I love domestic flying for some reason, probably because I am coming from such a tiny country (Slovenia), and just the thought of flying and landing inside the same country to me sounds insane. I love night trains, but always opt for cheapest option. I love random day trips to mountains or some abandoned industrial complexes, I love being by the sea, although I am fine not swimming. I love cold water dips, but mostly just sunbathing, I am too eager to move around anyway.

~ Tea lover, always with my thermos ready. 💕

~ Most of pictures, expect the album CS South America 2022 is outdated. For recent photos check Instagram below. 😊

IG: urbanmislej
FB: Urban Mislej

CURRENT MISSION

October 2023 ➡ New big adventure, first time in SE Asia. Will try to circumnavigate the planet before I ran out of money. My budget is around 10 eur per day, let's see how it goes 😂

PHILOSOPHY

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

2014 updated:

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I can hang out in Postojna, and showing the city for those who come, because I can't host at the moment, because I live with my family.
And I surfed several times, twice in Zagreb, once in Belgrade, in Helsinki and Budapest. What a wonderful experiences indeed!
EDIT: More than 20 new experiences in more than 15 countries during my autostop travels. More about that when we meet in person. :)

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Great experience in Zagreb, I've had given a couch in the center, although my host wasn't at Zagreb at the moment :D But I also really hope that I will get true Couchsurfing experience in near future.
Great experience in Finland, where we were hosted by crazy student in Espoo near Helsinki, we were staying there for 4 days, and all I can tell you is: this is the best possible way of travelling! :D
My couchsurfing experiences so far can be found on my blog: http://urbanmislej.blogspot.com/

EDIT: More than 20 new experiences in more than 15 countries during my autostop travels. More about that when we meet in person. :)

Interests

2015 updated:
Travelling, being scout, meeting people, playing guitar in a band, hitch-hiking, collecting underground metal posters from Slovenia and european capitals, listening to unknown genres of music (rule: less views on youtube or bandcamp, better it is).
I'm also collecting pictures from me jumping in different countries and I have collection of old cars from around Europe.

Check out my blog (in Slovenian, google translate it):http://urbanmislej.blogspot.com/
and my youtube channel: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC---wRtGIATbyB4ZeM5Lnxg

Music, Movies, and Books

2014 updated:
I LOVE European movies: satiric horrors, unusual dramas, low-budget/alternative movies
Music: Big range, from the lightest rock'n'roll, like The Beatles to the heaviest Death Metal, and of course, all between :D And I LOVE Post-rock and all types of alternative music!
Book: Pretty much every genre, but I am picky with a quality.

My band Pungert, genre HC Punk/Noise/Experimental: https://pungert.bandcamp.com/

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

2023 update: One amazing thing is actually rewriting my profile description and about me section after being as I wrote 'under construction' for 7 years. 😂

2015 update:

Going to exchange in Italy and portugal, beautiful people and lands! 2012
Had an exchange in Finland, couchsurfing in Finland and twice in Zagreb. 2013
Hitchhiked once to Belgrade and back (1140km from my place), and once to San Marino and back (1070km from my place) 2014
2015: Hitchhiked alone to Liechtenstein and back from Slovenia. (~1400km), hitchhiked to Ukraine via Hungary and back through Poland, Slovakia and Austria, using Couchsurfing (you are the best) ~2800km
NEW: Planning big Balcanic trip through pretty much every single country in the Balcanic peninsula. (approx. 3500km) (Done it!)
NEW: Did winter autostop Ljubljana (Slovenia)-Barcelona (Spain) and back. Just for fun.
NEW: First autotrip, to Bosnia, with 4 friends, for birthday. (Done it)
NEW: For summer, I am planning two biggest adventures so far. 1. Autostop Slovenia-Georgia (DONE IT!) 2. Autostop Slovenia-Rovaniemi (Finland), so till Arctic Circle.
By autostop, of course :3

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Armenia, Austria, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Kazakhstan, Kosovo, Kyrgyzstan, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Macedonia, Moldova, Montenegro, Morocco, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, Uganda, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, Vatican City State

Countries I’ve Lived In

Slovenia

Join Couchsurfing to see Urban’s full profile.

My Groups