Jonathan Jonsson's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login about 1 year ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Jonathan’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 10 References 5 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Swedish; learning Arabic, French, German
  • 30, Male
  • Member since 2007
  • IT
  • Stockholm University
  • From Dorotea, Västerbotten County, Sweden
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I currently live on a small farm in northern Sweden. I've spent years studying in all directions in Stockholm, some time in Ireland, and a lot of time trying to understand and improve myself. After going through some rough years where I haven't been active or travelling, I found my old profile and am hoping to meet new people and see new places again! Unfortunately, I'm not able to host people at this time.

I should tell anyone who wants to meet me in advance that I'm not one for partying, I don't drink and would rather talk over coffee than go to a bar. It's good to know this in advance so you don't end up disappointed if you were looking for a party! But if you want to sit around and talk about life and death and art and music, I'm always available. I'm also a vegetarian, but I don't mind people eating meat or drinking around me, as long as I don't have to :)

Gay, bi, trans and queer travellers will always be welcome!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

There is a lot of fear and uncertainty in the world right now, you only need to open a newspaper to feel that the world is a dangerous place and that you can't trust anyone. That is why things like Couchsurfing are so wonderful! Opening our doors to strangers from other cultures, learning and sharing, reminding ourselves that wherever we go in the world, there is kindness and a common humanity.

Oh. It's also cheap ;)

Interests

I'm a bit of an indoor kid. I play the guitar and read as much as I can. My biggest passion is languages. To speak, to learn, to deconstruct. When I chose a language to learn in depth, I fell in love with Arabic. I've spent about one and a half years studying Arabic so far, and while I'm not very good, I can hold a conversation. I also know a tiny bit of French and German, hoping to improve on this! I speak Norwegian fairly well and understand most dialects, I also understand Danish if they are willing to go slow :)

After having a small book of poetry published almost ten years ago, I've had a strange and almost hostile relationship with my writing. I hope that through hard work and being kind to myself I can find happiness in it again. I've played the guitar since I was 10, but mostly I just write and sing for myself, to process myself and the world around me.

  • literature
  • poetry
  • human rights
  • politics
  • reading
  • music
  • guitar
  • history
  • languages

Music, Movies, and Books

I love music in all its forms, from clean pop to industrial noise, and I spend a lot of time exploring what I don't know. I grew up listening to all kinds of metal, which will always be my home in a way. Some other all time favourites I always come back to are Tom Waits, John Coltrane, David Bowie, Venetian Snares, any soul, the Velvet Underground, PJ Harvey, Bob Dylan, riot grrrl and many more.

I love Bergman movies, any horror (especially Japanese), historical epics and anything that will make me laugh or think.

Howl, Slaughterhouse-Five, The Brothers Karamazov, The Wind-Up Bird Chronicle, The Trial, One Hundred Years of Solitude and Naked Lunch are some of my favourite books.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Grilling in the Empty Quarter in Oman with the teachers and students at my Arabic school, that really stands out for me. I spent five weeks in the small town of Ibri doing an intensive Arabic course, the best trip of my life.

Driving through northern Norway barely being able to keep my eyes on the road because of how ridiculously mind-blowingly beautiful a landscape can be.

Teach, Learn, Share

I always love learning about languages, art, history, culture and religion. I'm happy to help with the Swedish language or computers in general. The latter is my day job and seems to be my fate!

What I Can Share with Hosts

If you want to learn Swedish, 1. Why on earth? 2. I'm happy to help!

I'm not a terrible cook!

Countries I’ve Visited

Bahrain, Belarus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Dominican Republic, Finland, France, Germany, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Moldova, Monaco, Northern Ireland, Norway, Oman, Poland, Spain, Switzerland, Syrian Arab Republic, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates

Countries I’ve Lived In

Ireland, Sweden

Old School Badges

  • Pioneer 9e5c6d07410be6ad972e78858727f5a200c4ebab1f9bb897eb4d7cbee90959a8
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Jonathan’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups