Logo orange

Valeria Clarinetta Conte

Aarhus, Denmark

Not Accepting Guests

Last login 3 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Valeria Clarinetta's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 6 Positive References
  • Fluent in English, Italian; learning Danish, French, Norwegian Bokmål, Spanish, Yiddish
  • 35, Female
  • Member since 2012
  • GLOMAS Master Student
  • Music - Art - Ethnomusicology
  • From Venezia, Italia
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Enjoy the Life!

ABOUT ME

I'm a happy and positive person. As a good Italian I like to talk and meet new people, but I'm also reserved and sometimes need my space.

I lived in Venice since 2010 when I moved to Norway (Oslo and Røros), and then to Denmark (Århus).

I've a bachelor in classical clarinet and one in Textile Arts.
I really enjoy to create things with my hands, especially recycling various materials. At the moment I'm attending a Master's Program in Global Music: www.glomas.net at the Royal Academy of Music of Århus.

I'm a musician, clarinet/s and vocal:
https://soundcloud.com/valeriaclarinetta

I'm also an artisan on textiles: https://plus.google.com/photos/105234585467889078152/albums/5822121755141857489?authkey=CI-z-_ajnfH0aQ

I like to speak and learn new languages.

PHILOSOPHY

Always look at the good side of a situation, and never quit to learn, especially from what happens in the Life.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I want to host and surf even if lately I'm more a surfer since I don't have my "own" house and space. Many times I'm myself a guest in others' places, and I cannot offer a couch/bed to other surfers since somebody is already offering it to me. ;)

The main reason why I use CS is that, being a traveling musician, I often cannot afford to pay for an hostel/room. I travel and live with very little money: a bit as a choice, a bit because my previous choices brought me to be more focus in learning and developing my skills as a musician than as a collector of money. Last but not least: money is not on the top of my values' list.

A thing sometimes makes me doubt about CS are the expectations who many of the members have about time and availability of the host(s) and surfer(s).

As a HOST: I can offer to share my space with you but you're the one traveling and probably being in vacation which means: you're the one with time. I'm the one working (usually very hard) to get a living by being a musician and I sometimes really need to be able to continue to be focus on what I'm taking care of in that moment you're visiting me. If I can I would be very glad to show you around the little I know - I mostly spend my time studying and playing not hanging out.

As a SURFER: I don't have the use to go in "vacation" often - if I do it I prefer to pay for my staying because for me vacation means 'relax', 'not thinking', 'not feeling pressure' or 'in the duty to'. I usually travel with a reason, that could be i.e. to attend a course, a Festival, an expo, classes with teacher/s. It could be that I won't have time to be with you and/or deeply get to know each other. It could be that when I come to your place I will be very very tired and maybe in need of silence (to me Silence has a massive importance). This doesn't mean I'm not polite and of course I will spend time with you - if possible, I would be really pleased to cook for you! :) BUT to me becoming friends is an hard work: it's not something one decides, it's not something which can happen in a couple of days, it's not something you can say with a 'click'..

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I have been CouchSurfing quite a lot in the last years, not actually using this platform but more with "word of mouth" - that's why I don't have so many references, since many of my past hosts aren't CS members.

CS it's a very old tradition: the web-site came later. ;)

I started one year ago using the on-line CS and it helped me many times. I unfortunately hadn't always pleasant experiences.

Since 2010 I have been living/working/studying in Oslo and Røros (Norway), studying in Århus and traveling sometimes to Copenhagen (Denmark) and Helsinki (Finland), visiting back Italy, and spent some months in Tel Aviv, Israel, as a study trip. I also travelled to: Thailandia, Laos, Cambodia, Tanzania, Turkey, Polland, Germany, and England.

I change house every 1 - 2 months, 3 - 1 week.. it depends on where I am and what I am doing: if I'm following a course, or if I'm there for a Festival, or an Expo.

Sometimes I have a room all for me, sometimes a sofa-bed in the living room and some space for my things (when is for longer period), sometimes just a couch or a mattress on the floor. To me it doesn't matter so much: I just need some hours of sleeping, preferably good sleeping. :)

I always try to disturb as less as I can, and to be cleaned, to respect others' spaces and houses, and I do really appreciate who respects my space too.

Interests

World Music - Improvisation - Middle-Eastern Music - Klezmer - Yiddish - Jewish Culture - Handicraft - Arts - Foreign Languages

One Amazing Thing I've Done

- All my Life is unbelievably AMAZING. :)

- Being part of the GLOMAS education! A social/cultural/musical experiment that many times seems more 'Big Brother' than an education... It is the most fucked up situation I lived: very few hours of lessons, confusion, a never-ending 'passing the ball' from a coordinator to another... WoW!!! I (we as students) got so mad on first months!! BUT I learned so much about other cultures and how to relate with them! I learned so much about Life, about who I am and who I want to be. I learned so much about being clear and taking decision. I really love to be a GLOMAS student! :)

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach:
- how to cook an original Italian pasta!!
- how to play the clarinet
- how to survive with very little money in Århus
- how to roll a cigarette

I'd like to learn:
- how to be a better human being

I can share:
- my experiences and Life.

What I Can Share With Hosts

If you host me, I can offer myself as a cook. I'm not that good in cooking meat or fish, but I'm very successful with pasta and its various sauces. :)
I can also play you some music with my clarinet and, if you are a musician too, we could have inspiring jam sessions!

Countries I've Visited

Austria, Cambodia, Croatia, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Israel, Italy, Laos, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Spain, Tanzania, Thailand, Turkey, United Kingdom

Countries I've Lived In

Denmark, Israel, Italy, Norway

Join Couchsurfing to see Valeria Clarinetta's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile