Logo orange

Valery Ross

Montreal, Quebec, Canada

Not Accepting Guests

Last login over 2 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Valery's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 8 Positive References
  • Fluent in English; learning French
  • 27, Female
  • Member since 2008
  • in my mind I'm saving the world but ...
  • ongoing.
  • From Hillier, ON (The County)
  • Profile 60% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

keep moving forward

ABOUT ME

I love to learn. So, I go to school. Or at least I did. Last year was my last year of my bachelor degree at the University of Ottawa. I am taking a Major in Biology and a Minor in Mathematics, and I would like to use this to work in conservation biology. Eventually. I will go back to school for a Master's program in a while.. but after five years of working two part time jobs and taking a full science schedule, I think I need a little break from school.

BUT: there is so much about life that can't be learned in school. So, I travel. I go out of my way to meet new people. I go to new places that I know nothing about. I make spontaneous decisions. I take risks. Sometimes that means I make mistakes. I think this is a big part of the learning process. I pay attention to details that go by. I take time to sit still and absorb my surroundings.

I am always learning.

PHILOSOPHY

I don't do things halfway.

Travel. Try everything once, take risks, be spontaneous, live passionately. Take detours.

My friends say I'm an upper because I'm happy even when everything goes wrong.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I don't have a lot of experience with couchsurfing, but every little bit of it so far has been amazing. My summer in Europe was completely shaped by people. Not the scenery and the buildings and the food.... just the PEOPLE. A lot of my travels would have been impossible if it wasn't for friends taking me in. I love being able to host people and share my city with them. I had a few friends stay with me in Ottawa, including one girl who was on my couch for almost four months....

Interests

Being outside. Standing still. Motorcycles. Climbing Trees. Planting flowers. Missing trains. Being spontaneous. Camping. Stargazing. Sleeping everywhere. Trying new things. Broken english. Breakfast in bed. Playing hooky. Interesting hats. Trading books with other travellers. Using a camera to capture beauty in everyday life. Fireworks. Swimming in rivers.

Music, Movies & Books

Movies: Life is Beautiful, Pan's Labyrinth, The Darjeeling Limited, Requiem for a Dream, City of God, Amadeus, FernGully

Books: The Book Thief, Year of Wonders, Slaughter-House-Five, The Kite Runner, Jurassic Park, Life of Pi, Zen and the art of Motorcycle Maintenance

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Of all the places I've ever been, the most memorable was Orchid Island, Taiwan.

After finishing a two-week course on the conservation of dolphins and whales, I had 10 days to backpack Taiwan. The first stop was with six other students from the course who were also traveling, to Orchid Island. A tiny spec of lush green paradise off the Southeast coast. When we finally got off the rocky three hour ferry ride, our hotel owner picked us up in an oversized van. He drove us to the tiny village (one of five on the island) where we would be staying. We quickly learned that the island has no ATMs which accept international cards, so we pooled our cash and realized that we could only afford to stay on night in this paradise.

After dinner I took a walk with a friend around the village. We followed a sound up a small road to find a group of locals having a party outside of a church, complete with food, "taiwan beer", singing and dancing. Even though nobody spoke ANY English they welcomed us in and continuously pushed sweet potatoes, dried fish and drinks into our hands. We were invited to participate in the dances and enjoy the singing... it was an amazing night.

In the morning, after a breakfast of fresh mangoes, we rented some scooters to take the two-hour drive around the island and appreciate the scenery. I had the worst sunburn of my life after relaxing on the perfect beach all afternoon, which we had all to ourselves.

It's interesting how 24 hours can change your whole outlook on life.

Countries I've Visited

Austria, Bolivia, Plurinational State of, Brazil, Canada, Czech Republic, Denmark, France, Italy, Netherlands, Peru, Spain, Switzerland, Taiwan, United States

Countries I've Lived In

Canada, Germany

Join Couchsurfing to see Valery's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile