Matthew Valletta's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID verified
  • Address Verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 6 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Matthew’s full profile.

Overview

  • 114 references 95 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Spanish; learning Chinese, Esperanto, French, Italian, Sign Language - American
  • 41, Male
  • Member since 2008
  • Software Analyst, Freelance Translator
  • B.A. in Foreign Language, African American Studies Minor
  • From Glocester, RI, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To learn every language and speak to as many people as possible.

ABOUT ME

I'm back in New Orleans after about 5 years of living abroad. I live in the St Roch neighborhood of New Orleans and I love showing off my favorite city in the world.

PHILOSOPHY

I wrote some nice things in here and the CS website lost them. Now I am just going to write a little bit. I try to keep an open mind, be positive, and listen without judgment. I do not always succeed, so I also try to apologize when I make mistakes, no matter how small.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I truly believe in the Couchsurfing Project. 9 years and counting, and it continues to bring the most wonderful people into my life. I truly enjoyed sharing New Orleans, one of my most favorite cities in the world, with CSers from all over. I hope I can help people experience Dijon in a similar way.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Even after hosting over 80 people my experiences have all been 100% positive. I actually ended up becoming roommates with a CSer, and even though he now lives across the ocean, I still consider him one of my closest friends. Couchsurfing also brought me the love of my life!

Interests

I am very much interested in foreign languages and look forward to international visitors or visitors from the good ol' US of A that can teach me anything about another language.

  • books
  • vegan
  • genealogy
  • languages
  • sign language
  • language exchange
  • linguistics
  • learning languages
  • lgbt
  • reading books
  • vegan food
  • veganism
  • foreign languages
  • vegan cooking
  • gayfriendly
  • raw vegan
  • gay friendly
  • lgbtq
  • gays

Music, Movies, and Books

Things I like in no particular order
Music:Jimmy Eat World, Manu Chau, MIA, Harry Belafonte, Cake, Radiohead

Movies: The Power of One, Class of Nuke 'em High Part 2, Killer Clowns from Outer Space, The Birds, A League of Their Own, Hocus Pocus

Books: Ishmael, World War Z, Narnia, Harry Potter, Earthseed, Celestine Prophecy

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I saw the sun rise over Death Valley, twice. It was very beautiful.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach you some interesting recipes and more than you ever wanted to know about language and/or linguistics.

I want to learn all about you!

What I Can Share with Hosts

If I stay with you I would love to cook you dinner and talk to you about your travels and share stories of mine as well. I love learning new things from new people, so hopefully you can share what you're passionate about with me. I promise to be respectful, tidy, as well as offering excellent conversation, and the ability to entertain myself if you are too busy.

Countries I’ve Visited

Bahamas, Belgium, Canada, China, Czech Republic, Germany, Gibraltar, Ireland, Mexico, Netherlands, Panama, Switzerland

Countries I’ve Lived In

Chile, Costa Rica, France, Spain, United States

Old School Badges

  • 6 Vouches
  • Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Matthew’s full profile.

My Groups