Vanya Anderson's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 92% response rate
  • Last login about 4 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Vanya’s full profile.

Overview

  • 175 references 155 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Belarusian, English, Polish, Russian; learning Polish, Spanish
  • 23, Male
  • Member since 2017
  • English teacher
  • BSU, law facuty
  • From Belarus
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Couch-friendly. Guests are welcome 😺

Not more than 2-3 nights, please.

♀️CS network is unfortunately unsafe for women because of some people who use it as a sex-dating website. Report harassers and always write honest references to make women in the community feel safe, please.♀️

Looking for deep connections and meaningful converstions with people :)

I host with my partner Julia:
https://couchsurfing.page.link/HubqRznVfmSttq6D9

Most references from our guests as well as our travel history are on that page.

Note: it's very uncomfortable to refuse when someone you're hosting asks for extra nights.
Please, don't ask for extra nights. Request the exact number of nights you want to stay. Thank you 😊

BIOGRAPHY (scroll down, too many words)

🪬 Two most important things to say, which probably shape my identity, are skepticism and extreme curiosity. I don't take anything on faith (ideas, notions). However, I'm always open to new ideas and experience. Overall, I love talking and listening a lot.

I'm said to be a nice and agreeable guy who it's easy to build a connection with. I love CS for giving me the chance to build long-standing friendship with some people and seek to make more friends through it 🤗

I'm a cheerful and curious person. Like traveling abroad by hitchhiking and discovering new things.

Think all people are interesting and unique. Wanna live life to the full, so traveling for me is one of the greatest opportunities to do this.

I love to do exciting activities, hang out with different people discussing any topic which could be interesting for both of us.

I am fond of languages, psychology, politics, history, economics, and law as well as some other humanities. Fancy various sports and also get high from extreme sports (e.g. skydiving, skiing, diving etc.) 🎿 Recently discovered night clubs and found them pretty enjoyable🕺

🧭🗺️Usually, I travel alone (or with my girlfriend), cause it helps me find myself. I'm a tolerant person and as a rule, I try to think critically. Conservative, easy-going and funny. Like asking many questions❓ Wanna become better and make the world better too. I'm injustice intolerant.

After graduating from school I took one year off (so-called Gap Year), the main reason for which was to find answers to a couple of questions - 'Who am I?' and 'What do I want?'. ( update: Just wanted to be different🤔)

For my Gap Year I've visited all the countries of the former Soviet Union🎯. It was a great experience! So many people, so many life stories, and wonderful places. It has changed my life forever.

🧑‍🎓I was a law faculty student at BSU. It was an interesting period of my life. Loved it.

Also, I was volunteering in human rights organizations. (UPD: 2 years before human rights in Belarus were burnt to the ground🤦)

I used to attend Erasmus+ projects a lot in the past. I still think it's one of the best ways of travelings. Almost as cool as Couch Invasions, which I'm particularly a big fan of.

Having being freshmen, we (my girlfriend and I) created a youth organization - 'Street University'. It was a free mass lectorium for youth, where everyone could be not just a student but a lecturer. Also, we made interactive FreeWalkingTours for foreigners in Minsk. (As of 2018)

I'm keen on debating. Once I was participating in the national debate session 'Diskut' and finally won it. We discussed different social issues in our country and the world there. ( update: And then half of the staff were repressed)

🧳I moved to Vietnam, where I lived and worked for 1.5 years. It's an amazing country which I love whole-heartedly and miss very much. I keep working there online as well as in some other Asian countries (South Korea and China)

🍷I don't drink alcohol at home. Hope it won't be a problem for my guests.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------- THE SAME IN RUSSIAN ----------------------------------

Также хостим вместе с девушкой с нашего общего профиля. Большинство отзывов от гостей там:
https://couchsurfing.page.link/HubqRznVfmSttq6D9

Очень неудобно отказывать, когда люди просят о дополнительных ночах. Пожалуйста, запрашивайте точное количество ночей и не просите в процессе о новых😊🙏

Веселый и любознательный.
Очень люблю путешествовать и открывать для себя нечто новое.

Люблю людей: в них всегда можно найти что-то интересное и уникальное. (Как минимум, у каждого свои тараканы)

Люблю детей. Будем рады семейным парам с детьми. Учу английскому детей от года, так что легко нахожу с ними контакт.

Развиваюсь, общаясь с другими людьми и подчеркивая для себя полезные вещи. Каждый человек как живая книга. Нехватку опыта всегда можно компенсировать, впитывая жизненный опыт других людей. Думаю, что каждый человек на нашем пути - своеобразный учитель
Обожаю делать какие-нибудь жутко веселые, интересные и незаурядные вещи. Всегда открыт к чему-то новому, не изведанному для меня (особенно, к вакцинам😏).

Увлекаюсь психологией, историей, правом и экономикой, а также другими гуманитарными науками.

Работал и жил во Вьетнаме полтора года. Теперь живу в Грузии. Переехали в Познань в феврале 2022. После этого решили пожить в моем любимом городе Будапеште.

Мы с девушкой когда-то создали общественную организацию под названием 'Уличный университет' - бесплатный неформальный лекторий для молодежи, где каждый может быть как лектором, так и студентом. (Тогда в Беларуси еще можно было собираться больше двух. Кек)

С помощью этого мы пытались компенсировать недостатки белорусской системы образования.

В последний год жизни в Минске стал общественным активистом. Волонтёрил в разных правовых организациях. (Пока всех их участников не посадили).

Участвую в национальных дебатах на социальные темы (тогда за высказывания своего мнения публично ещё не давали пизды).

Хочу стать лучше и сделать мир тоже чуточку лучше.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I like communicating with people of different cultures and nationalities as well as love traveling. Couchsurfing is a great way to find friends abroad. Also, I think Couchsurfing is a wonderful opportunity for self-development. Meeting new people, who could share their experiences with you.
Due to this application, I've met a lot of truly great people who have become my good friends.

Обожаю общаться с людьми разных культур и национальностей так же сильно, как люблю путешествовать. Отличный способ найти друзей за границей. Также каучсерфинг - замечательная возможность для саморазвития. Встречая новых людей, которые могли бы поделиться с тобой своим опытом, мы становимся лучше.
Благодаря этому приложению я встретил много действительно прекрасных людей, которые впоследствии стали моими хорошими друзьями.

Interests

My favourite TV show is "Adam ruins everything".

I enjoy reading books, mostly non-fiction. However, I hate all that esoteric stuff, self-motivation books and Steven Pinker's pseudoscientific shit.

I would really appreciate if you can help me unlearn something I'm wrong about.

  • reading
  • survival
  • hiking
  • skydiving
  • skiing
  • atheism
  • swimming
  • rowing
  • anthropology
  • economics
  • teaching
  • history
  • international relations
  • languages
  • law
  • medicine
  • philosophy
  • psychology
  • religion
  • hitchhiking
  • volunteering
  • linguistics
  • english
  • biking
  • marketing
  • diving
  • rock-climbing
  • feminism
  • healthy food
  • meeting new people
  • self-development
  • healthy lifestyle
  • islam
  • debating
  • critical thinking
  • family guy
  • urbanism
  • teaching english
  • industrial tourism
  • international law
  • immigration
  • investments
  • women's rights
  • ielts
  • analyzing
  • behavioral economics
  • ww2
  • teaching kids
  • culturology
  • self-reflection

Music, Movies, and Books

I'm a huge movie buff and a big fan of festival films. But it's really hard to complete a list of them I love French social comedies a lot. Yet drama is for sure my favorite genre.

Books:

1) Svetlana Alekseevich - All books.
2) Jared Diamond - "Collapse", "Gubs, germs and steel"
4) James Hannam - "God's Philosophers"
5) Yuval Harrari - All books
6) Daniel Kahneman - "Thinking, fast and slow", "Noise"
7) Frans de Vaal - "Are we smart enough to know how smart animals are"
8) Ben Goldacre - "Bad Pharma"
9) Solzhenitsyn - "Gulag"
10) "Hitchhiker's Guide to Galaxy"
11) "Persepolis" Marjan Satrapi
12) "The boy in the striped pajamas" John Boyne
13) "The book thief" Markus Zusak
14) 'Escape from freedom', 'Anatomy of human destructiveness', Fromm;
15) Karen Horney 'Nevrotic person of modernity

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

- Got rid of stereotypes and started thinking :D (out of date😂)
- Took Gap Year.
- Hitchhiked through Eurasia.
- Survived in Vietnam.
- Moved to Hungary/Poland.
- Got through 2020.
- Arrested a criminal.
- Lost a lot of money to the stock market.
- Came across the abuser's profile on CS and made him remove it by reporting his behaviour. Got a negative reference from him

Teach, Learn, Share

Can tell you about my country and life here, our culture and history. Have different interesting stories from my trips. Can share my experience related to life in Vietnam. Language exhchanges are more than welcome.

I can share my food and positive vibes.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Good company and interesting conversations

Countries I’ve Visited

Armenia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Belgium, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Egypt, France, Georgia, Germany, Hungary, Israel, Italy, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Moldova, Netherlands, Norway, Palestine, Poland, Russian Federation, Slovakia, Sweden, Switzerland, Tajikistan, Turkey, Ukraine, Uzbekistan, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Belarus, Georgia, Hungary, Poland, Viet Nam

Join Couchsurfing to see Vanya’s full profile.

My Groups