Logo orange

VELAS_AO_VENTO

Rio de Janeiro, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Maybe Accepting Guests

70% response rate · Last login about 21 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see VELAS_AO_VENTO's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 33 Positive References
  • Fluent in English, Portuguese, Spanish
  • 43, Male
  • Member since 2009
  • Outdoor tour guide
  • Free Software University degree
  • From Rio de Janeiro
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Share experiences, learn, grow, exchange ideas and knowledge.

ABOUT ME

Adoro natureza, mar, montanha, cachoeira, praia, trilha, atividades ao ar livre como vela, surf, escalada em rocha, pedalar, caminhar, LIBERDADE. Adoro fotografar, ler, escutar e tocar (mesmo sem saber) música, conhecer gente boa, dançar, aprender e trocar experiências.

Não entende português? Eu também não... =D

Trabalho com um grupo de amigos em atividades ao ar livre no Rio de Janeiro, o Projeto Vamos! (http://projetovamos.blogspot.com) prentende compartilhar diversão e estilo de vida carioca com as pessoas de fora daqui.

I work with a group of friends on outdoor activities in Rio de Janeiro. The Projeto Vamos! (http://projetovamos.blogspot.com) is our willing to share fun and carioca way of life with foreigners.

PHILOSOPHY

I treat every human being with trust and politness as I believe all of us should. I really believe and live according to Dalai Lama's classic speech: "If you want to feel happy, practice compassion. If you want to make others happy, practice compassion."

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I offer my place as to share something I think maybe precious to someone who may need and enjoy.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I am very used to host, share, and being hosted at other peoples places through my entire life. Regarding CS project specifically, I first met some CSers at a girlfriend's place, and eventually hosted them in my place before officially joining and creating a profile here.

From that first experiences I've discovered a wonderful way to travel the world without going leaving home, meeting interesting people, and providing something we can for one who's in need (one who has a home and some spare space to one's who's travelling abroad). I have already hosted some people at home and in the boat, and I'm still continuously learning a lot from all of them.

At the moment I am living with a roomate at a shared apartment, and we've agreed to ONLY receive/host CSers on WEEKENDS.

So, if you've read my profile with a bit of attention, you probably will not ask to stay with us during the week, you won't call me Velas and you will probably notice we're not hosting people just for the sake of providing free accommodations to anyone.

Interests

Surfing, rock climbing, sailing, bike riding, trekking, outdoor activities, slacklining, free software, photography, reading, playing and listening to music, dancing, culture, meeting people, learning, practicing peace and love.

Music, Movies & Books

I am actually and usually listening to World Music, reading Travel and adventure books (no romances or fiction at the moment) and like very much to see a great film, but unfortunately had not been very often to the movies lately.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

You know, one who lives in Rio is always doing and seeing amazing things... I once even had to rob a bus! (Seriously I HAD TO!!). I wrote a tale on that - IN PORTUGUESE- here, but unfortunately the site with my posts went offline --> http://celomar.multiply.com/journal/item/8
I promise I will write another tale and keep it in a safe place if I ever have to do such a thing like that again :)

Teach, Learn, Share

Free Software, sailing and sailboat navigation, surfing, photography, rock climbing and slacklining, I can teach basic portuguese for foreigners; spanish and english for brazilians.
Can show a bit of (I am definitely not that expert) our local (native and foreign species) fruits, flower and trees, as well as forest animals.

What I Can Share With Hosts

We usually setup a double mattress at the living room, which is shared space.

CSers are invited to use the kitchen, laundry machine, our bathroom with hot water shower, and the Internet connection. We cannot lend you a computer, sorry!

Meanwhile people are staying here, I love to share some of the outdoors around, like our small vegetables plantation at Florescer NGO (a reforestation project), some hikes or outdoor/natural places, and so on...

Countries I've Visited

Argentina, Bolivia, Chile, Costa Rica, Ecuador, Peru, United States

Countries I've Lived In

Brazil

Join Couchsurfing to see VELAS_AO_VENTO's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile