Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login 8 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Jean-François’s full profile. It’s free!


  • 22 References 16 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French, German; learning Portuguese, Spanish
  • 49, Male
  • Member since 2008
  • Senior Web Developer
  • B.Sc. Computer Science
  • From Montreal, Québec, Canada
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


Enjoy life


I've been traveling quite a bit and one of the bests thing that can happen when you are abroad is to meet local people. I think CS is a great idea.

Our appartement is on the Plateau Mont-Royal. I say "our" because I've been living with my wife Renata ( for four years now. It is located in a quite central and lively area in the city of Montréal with a lot of cafés, bars, restaurants, theatres, etc. It is also only 3 blocks away from a metro station. The area is great. I've been living here for 18 years now. We have a couch which can accommodate one person, or maybe two but it is not very large. And it is not in an entirely closed room.

We are non-smoker, and we prefer people not to smoke in our apartment.




We are here to learn something

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I like hosting people once in a while. It allows me to travel a bit event if I am at home. And when I am travelling, I like to use couchsurfing. It allows to visit a place from inside, with the insight from a local person instead of discovering the place thought its typical tourist attractions.


I'm a member since August 2008. I hosted a few guests, and I met with a CSer in Bonaire. I've also been to a few CSers gathering here in Montréal and it has always been great fun.


In my free time, I like to take classes: sailing, diving, German, Spanish, Italian (but I forgot it all... shame on me), theater, piano, salsa, tango, massage therapy (Shiatsu and Californian massage), tantra workshops, wine tasting... I guess I like learning. I haven't been taking all of these classes at the same time, of course. ;-) But it gives you an idea of my fields of interest.

In the Summer, I like sailing and in the Winter cross-country skiing.

  • theater
  • dancing
  • salsa dancing
  • tango
  • wine
  • wine tasting
  • yoga
  • massage therapy
  • meditation
  • technology
  • piano
  • scuba diving
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • shiatsu
  • kundalini yoga
  • iyengar yoga

Music, Movies, and Books

L'auberge espagnole has been one of my favourite movies in the past years.

As far as music goes, I listen to a lot of World Music: 17 Hippies, Asaf Avidan, Geoffrey Oryema... And to local music: Daniel Bélanger, DJ Champion...

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

A 10 month trip around the World in 1999-2000

Teach, Learn, Share

- Computers and technology
- Sailing
- Massage therapy (Californian, Shiatsu) and Chinese Medicin
- Salsa dancing

What I Can Share with Hosts

Cooking and teaching language

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Austria, Belgium, Belize, Brazil, Canada, Croatia, Cuba, Czech Republic, England, Fiji, France, Germany, Greece, Guadeloupe, India, Italy, Lebanon, Luxembourg, Martinique, Mexico, Monaco, Morocco, Nepal, Netherlands, Netherlands Antilles, New Caledonia, New Zealand, Portugal, Spain, Switzerland, Syrian Arab Republic, Thailand, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States, Vanuatu

Countries I’ve Lived In

Brazil, Canada, Germany

Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    6 Vouches
  • Pioneer 9e5c6d07410be6ad972e78858727f5a200c4ebab1f9bb897eb4d7cbee90959a8
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Jean-François’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups