Logo orange

Jan Gißke

Utrecht, Utrecht, Netherlands

Maybe Accepting Guests

Last login 4 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Jan's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 17 Positive References
  • Fluent in English, German, Portuguese, Spanish; learning Dutch, French
  • 24, Male
  • Member since 2009
  • student (German as a foreign language)
  • Bachelor's Degree
  • From Kirchheilingen, Thuringia, Germany
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

finish my studies

ABOUT ME

I am very humerous (well I think so), open minded (as we all are, right…) and I enjoy getting to know new people especially from other nations or cultures that can show me the deversity of our world. I would say I am normal, trustworthy and I am loving life. I love foreign languages, the smell of coffee in the morning, summer-evenings and winter-mornings. I love to be ironic but sometimes people don't get my irony. That gives me the impression that they think I am dull. But I am not. Definitely not.

PHILOSOPHY

Don't be too hip.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I participate in CS because I think that this is a good way to see the real world and to give other people the possibility to see the world.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

September 2009: Paris; hosted by Agnes (THANK U SO MUCH), my first host ever :)
July 2010: I hosted Alejandro and it was a great time! Later we went to see another part of Germany together.
October 2011: I stayed with my friend Héctor in southern Chile, in Puerto Varas at Isabel's Place. It was beautiful to meet here.
December 2011: I stayed at Eduardo's place in Mendoza, Argentina. I hat a great time!
January 2012: Traveling around Brazil I stayed with Daniel in Foz do Iguaçu, with Gabriela and her boyfriend in Parati and I got to know Lincoln and Eduardo in Rio de Janeiro. They all showed me what Brazil is like :)
March/April 2013: I spent quiet a lot time at Mauricio's and Fernando's lovely house in Punta Arenas, Chile. They made me feel so cosy that I absolutely enjoyed the stay.
June 2014: I stayed at Luiz' and Lysmars place in Manaus and Belém! Thank you guys!
July 2014: I spent a couple of days at Ranieri's in Blumenau! Had a great time!

Interests

I am really interested in everything coming along with foreign countries: The people, the language, the culture and the food :-). My special interest is with Latin America (Chile and Brazil). I love to cook, read books, go to the cinema and many things more.

Music, Movies & Books

Movies: There are a lot of very good movies. My favourites are Amélie, Volver, The devil wears Prada, Vicky Cristina Barcelona and furthermore I love various US American series.

Music: Shakira, Cumbia, Chico Trujillo, Villa Cariño, Samba, Monobloco, Axé

Books: In summers I enjoy lieing outside and reading a good book. My favourite books are Love In Times of Cholera, Hundred Years of Solitude, Ensemble - c'est tout and Isabel Allende's books.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Carnaval no Rio de Janeiro!

Teach, Learn, Share

Since I am a German Teacher I can learn the basics of the German language to you (if you aren't German by yourself) or I could show some German food to you.

Countries I've Visited

Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Czech Republic, France, Morocco, Netherlands, Poland, Spain, United Kingdom, Uruguay

Countries I've Lived In

Brazil, Chile, Germany

Join Couchsurfing to see Jan's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile