Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 4 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Heather’s full profile. It’s free!


  • 8 References 7 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning French, Spanish
  • 34, Female
  • Member since 2009
  • It's a work in progress..sustainable farmer is top of the...
  • University B.A. (Longview & Austin, TX, USA)
  • From Bridgewater Corners, Vermont, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


To find and follow the path I'm here to walk in this world--and to learn to better love people along the way... Also learning to follow my heart (and my feet :) rather than my head..and the meaning of the word adventure!! :)


I'm happiest when I'm outside--camping, running, hiking, swimming in a lake or the sea, strolling along on a sunny day, laying on my back in a grassy field, stargazing on a summer night...
I love my family, friends and travel more than anything, the outdoors more than about anything else.
My other loves include organic sustainable farming, live music, singing, learning guitar & ukelele, animals (esp. dogs and cows :), natural health & healing (especially herbal & nutritional medicine and Contact Care Therapy [], yoga, dance, good food...
I enjoy people who love life and who care about others.
I am learning to listen better, striving to understand, dedicated to helping, and seeking to enjoy every moment more fully. I'm committing to more random acts of kindness and talking to strangers--I've made so many wonderful and amazing new friends this way!! Getting outside to walk and breathe and "be" as much as possible, every day; worrying less, laughing more; learning a new song; petting a friendly dog; reveling in the everyday--a swan gliding along on a lake, fresh handmade bread, the incredible perfume of a peony in the spring, a child's carefree laugh, the feel of a smooth stone or rough tree bark or silky sand under my bare feet...

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I'm still just starting out really, but very excited to see where it all goes! I've surfed 4 places now in NZ's South Island, 1 in South Korea, 2 in Australia, and as I'm currently traveling, hope to meet many more CSers in the next ?? months. I also like the idea of CS parties, esp. at layovers :) And can't wait to host when I have my own couch again one day, wherever that may be...


Katherine & Stephan Leslie, near Blenheim NZ, 23-24 April '13, Jeremy Kelleher, near Christchurch NZ 25 Apr 13, Pat Wall, Dunedin NZ Apr '13, Leighton James, Queenstown NZ Apr '13, Sarah Lyons, Incheon S Korea, Aug '13; Victoria Nugent, Brisbane AUS, Mar '14; Marna Eringa, Sydney AUS, Mar '14


Nature, art, travel, music (especially live) languages, animals, people, food, health & healing, sustainable living and homesteading...

  • animals
  • pets
  • cats
  • dogs
  • horses
  • chickens
  • arts
  • singing
  • design
  • perfumes
  • dancing
  • causes
  • dining
  • cooking
  • cheese
  • yoga
  • running
  • partying
  • gardening
  • traveling
  • homesteading
  • magic
  • music
  • live music
  • guitar
  • outdoor activities
  • hiking
  • camping
  • swimming
  • languages
  • medicine

Music, Movies, and Books

MUSIC--folk, rock, blues & jazz, indie, old country, world, dance (swing, tango, latin), experimental; Alexi Murdoch, Bon Iver, Iron & Wine, Feist, Norah Jones, Sigur Ros, of Montreal, Bonobo, Fat Freddy's Drop, Chris Smither, Louis Armstrong, Edith Piaf...oh he'll, way too many to list! Buskers, especially ones w some gypsy vibe!! :)
Books/authors-- Anne Lamotte, Oscar Wilde, Mark Twain, Laurie Lee, Mary Webb, Cindy Guidry
Movies: Amelie, Breakfast at Tiffany's, The Brothers Bloom, Penelope, Little Miss Sunshine, August Rush, Pretty In Pink, About Time, The Philadelphia Story, Where the Lilies Bloom, Ice Age; only a few shows, The IT Crowd and Friends being top dogs

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I was the only one present at the birth of my foal (baby horse) one quiet spring night in Vermont. I'll never forget the magic and mystery of birth and life..

Traveling solo in Mongolia with no plan, making it up as I went along

Ranchsitting for 10 days in Montana, taking care of a herd of beef cattle, dairy cows, dogs, cats, chickens, ducks, horses, and a couple of pet rats :-)

Teach, Learn, Share

Well, the most I know about anything is about horses. I grew up riding from before I could walk, so I know my way around a horse, though of course there's endlessly more to learn..currently studying Contact Care Therapy for both humans and horses.. Learning how to help people by releasing trapped bone pressure from surprise impact injuries (we've all had em!) Amazing stuff!! Hoping to return to NZ to get certified. for more info. Its a very gentle and "safe" therapy, but incredibly powerful and effective to relieve all kinds of injuries and the root causes of disease.
My other major love is sustainable farming & homesteading- organics, permaculture, etc. I'm super-keen to learn how to make cheese, soap, and woolen products, and I can milk goats & cows, take care of chickens, move cattle, chop wood (woohoo! :), and do basic gardening. Also have now done my first permaculture design course--exciting!!
Still working on learning the guitar, as I've also got my heart set on being a busker someday! Any musicians looking for a vocalist with a few guitar skills? :)
I have a fairly good grasp of the English language, both written and spoken, as it's my first language and I studied it as part of my university degree. I could potentially help with editing papers, speeches, etc.

What I Can Share with Hosts

A love of people, travel, nature, music, and mindful living. I'm also a decent cook and baker, an exceptional dishwasher, and have been known to give foot rubs on occasion. Best of all sharing a good shoe-shaking laugh!

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, China, Greece, Mongolia, Norway, South Korea, Spain, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada, New Zealand, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Heather’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups