Victor Chiu's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login about 4 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Victor’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 10 References 9 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Chinese, English, Portuguese; learning German, Spanish
  • 29, Male
  • Member since 2015
  • Software Engineer
  • University of California Los Angeles
  • From São Paulo, State of São Paulo, Brazil
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I'm a Brazilian, born and raised in São Paulo, the biggest Latin American city that never sleeps. I'm originally Taiwanese, but that's a technicality, though I did live 2 years of my adolescence in Taipei. I recently moved to Berlin, from Stockholm for work.

ATTENTION: Right now I can only host one person (just a couch for now)

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

For me, Couchsurfing is more than just providing someone a safe place to crash or crashing at someone else's place. It's about creating a room for someone of a different walk-of-life (or the same, it doesn't really matter) to be comfortable to travel and experience whatever they are looking for in the city, whether that involves experiencing the way people live and carry on their lives and/or simply sightseeing and walking around the city.
I love to travel and to meet new people. Everyone brings with them a rich, cultural baggage and exchanging these experiences and views broadens our perspective of the world. It makes us more empathetic about our peers and more able to put ourselves into others' shoes.
I'm always open to hang out and to discover new places with newly met people. Hotels and hostels can be a bit impersonal at times and sometimes limit your city explorations down to the flyers they offer.
As a host, I've come to realize that the extent of the difference we can make to travelers is ungraspable. I've hosted people who would otherwise not have traveled to my destination and this has enabled them to experience some unforgettable memories.

Interests

I'm a very active person, always going out, to bars, clubbing, working out, running, traveling or just walking around aimlessly around the city.
Lately I've been enjoying a lot of night clubs in Berlin, from Watergate to Berghain, and even ventured into KitKat.
But I also enjoy my quiet times, just staying at home reading, writing, coding personal projects, and learning something in which I'm interested.
Meeting new people and enjoying the cultural differences is what makes life interesting.
I'm currently learning German, slowly but steadily.

  • running
  • working out
  • walking
  • partying
  • clubbing
  • technology
  • movies
  • traveling
  • languages

Music, Movies, and Books

I'm pretty eclectic when it comes to music. I listen from classical music to techno. I don't really like very mainstream pop music, but once in a while just to know what is out there is ok. My favorite though, is usually something along the lines of Radiohead, Muse, Nicolas Jaar, Moderat, John Butler Trio, Dave Matthews, Aphex Twin, Trentemøller, Jack Johnson, Brazilian Popular Music, Bossa Nova, Brazilian Rap, System of a Down, and classic rock. I also like to play some guitar when I have the time. As my guest you have the choice of discovering Brazilian, Swedish, and Chinese music in Germany with an Asian guy!
Sci-fi movies are my favorite. Thought-provoking movies with myriad ways of interpretation are my favorites. Some of my favorite directors are Lynch, Kubrick, Tarantino, Nolan.
When it comes to books, I like the classics like Albert Camus, Dostoevsky, Kafka, Dickens, Frost, etc. However, I have a soft spot for the Harry Potter, Tolkien, and Narnia books.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I moved abroad, by myself, for a university degree in Los Angeles, California when I was 18. Going to live and work in Stockholm, then Berlin, again by myself, is probably one of the most brave things I've done recently.

Teach, Learn, Share

I am willing to teach anything I know, from languages to tech stuff. I am open to learning anything too.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Anything you would need for a pleasant stay. I can share what I like around Berlin, take you bar hopping, Spätcrawls, meet ups, biking tours (I love biking here!)

Countries I’ve Visited

Czech Republic, England, Germany, Hong Kong, Hungary, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Spain, Sweden, Thailand, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

Brazil, Germany, Sweden, Taiwan, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Victor’s full profile. It’s free!