Logo orange

Sæþór Randalsson

Reykjavik, Greater Reykjavik, Iceland

Wants to Meet Up

97% response rate · Last login about 1 hour ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Sæþór's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 75 Positive References
  • Fluent in English; learning Icelandic
  • 33, Male
  • Member since 2006
  • 3D artist in videogames
  • Some university and a lot of self ed...
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Please first read under "my home" to be sure we are compatible.

ABOUT ME

Dual citizen*, husband, father, baker, knitter, movie enthusiast, activist, and more. *I changed my name upon receiving citizenship, so most references refer to my old name.

I was born in Richmond, Virginia, but I've lived all over the US, and now reside in Iceland. I work in the video game industry as a character artist. That means I am responsible for the characters you play as in a videogame. You can check out my website to see examples of my work. I briefly started my own bakery, but have since had to move back to 3D as a job.

I live with my husband, Agust, he is an android programmer for a financial software company (similar to Mint) here in Iceland. He's the more quiet of the two of us, but he's much better at listening and asking questions.

Also living with us and taking up most of our time is our son, Daníel Valur. He is still an infant, born in late 2014, so we will gear our acceptance around who we would feel comfortable sharing a space with our newborn son.

And finally, but definitely not least, is Óskar, our precocious Icelandic dog. He will love you, jump on you, possibly pee a little on your feet if you excite him when first coming in. He's big, 30 kilos, and loves meeting new people, sitting on their feet, and bringing them his toys to throw for him.

I love making new friends, smiling, laughing, eating good food, cooking good food, long walks or rollerblade rides along the coast of Iceland. And I especially love seeing new places. That's part of what drew me to CS in the first place.

PHILOSOPHY

Do everything to the best of your ability. Every day is a new chance to make things better and to enjoy life.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Mostly hosting, but occasionally couch-crashing/surfing.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

So far it's been nothing but positive. We have hosted many numerous couchsurfers, probably over 50 by now, and all of them have been great.

Interests

Art, teaching, good food, intelligent humorous people, traveling (duh), movies, 420

Photography! If you stay with me, you will most likely be recruited to sit for a portrait session or two.

Music, Movies & Books

I love fantasy and sci fi, both in cinema and literature. I listen mostly to electronic music and pop, anything with a quick beat.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Had to update this (my previous story is below). I got to welcome my infant son into the world in a birthing pool in the comfort of our own home. I was the first to touch his head as it crowned, and under the coaching of a midwife, drew him to my chest, cord still attached, as he coughed and drew in his first breath. He is our prince and new gravitational center in which the house orbits.

When I was in high-school I worked on an exotic animal farm. I had to help a camel give birth by pulling on one of the baby's legs along with another farm-hand, until the baby popped out. I was also bitten on the pinky by a monkey and had to have 8 stitches. I have the scar to prove it.

Hmmm, both my stories are about birth...

Teach, Learn, Share

Anyone who stays with me will probably have to hear about whatever recent subject I've become fascinated with. I'm also always willing to talk about art, color theory, light, materials, etc.

What I Can Share With Hosts

A nice warm bed, recently renovated shower, political discussion, gay rights, a picture of a modern gay couple with a son, and probably some good food too.

Countries I've Visited

Australia, Bahamas, Belgium, Canada, China, Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Iceland, Italy, Mexico, Morocco, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, Ukraine, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I've Lived In

Germany, Iceland, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Sæþór's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile