Vincent Idas's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login about 7 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Vincent’s full profile.

Overview

  • 14 references 14 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French, Spanish; learning German, Italian
  • 27, Male
  • Member since 2015
  • Holiday camp activity leader
  • Business & Economis / Permaculture
  • From Paris, France
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

After travelling for a while after finished a degree I did not really enjoy (Business & Economics) I've settled down back home for a completelly different thing : a project with my twin brother, involving agroecology and permaculture! the idea is to re-think our home following permaculture's principles, also having an organic garden for self-sufficency and planting an edible forest for our retirement... the place is located in the beautiful south of France, on the seaside, between Marseille and Nice.

We've started the project almost 2 years ago and having the chance to be the 2 of us, we can continue to travel back and forth by our own because we love that!

Our father was not so keen to have CS guest, and slowly but surely he is now OK to welcome few of you, time to time! depending the place we have here, you might sleep during spring/summer in a beautiful tree house that we finished just recently (not to bad, right?!)

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I tried CouchSurfing for the first time after my Erasmus year:, I decided to do a little trip by myself, in the UK and Ireland. My brother suggested me to try CS, as a cheaper and more enjoyable way of travelling. I haven't been disappointed !! I did 3 couch surfing in 10 days and really like this way of travelling.
After in Spain in Portugal, I have always met amazing people in CS community and it made my trips always brighter, funnier, and more interesting... so I continue to do CS when I travel alone

Rencently, our dad was agree to accept CS guest so I am excited to give back the warmful welcoms I had to whoever is interested to travel in wonderful Provence and Côte d'Azur...

Interests

Just recently, as you might imagine if you came all along until here, I am now spending a lot of time outside: planting, seeding, harvesting, building, nesting, watching and contemplating Nature... and I love it!

I like outdoor activities in general: Scuba diving, biking, hill-walking, chilling with my friends on the seaside... and now I learning more and more about Yoga and try to meditate at least once a day

I really enjoy listening music, alone or with my fiends during concerts andfestivals

I love cooking for years now, even though I am changing my cooking style (I truly believe now that vegetarian food is the key of our future)

I am a book lover and I can read hours and hours: fiction and non-fiction to be transported, newspaper & magazine for a better understanding of the world, self-development for a better understanding of myself

  • culture
  • books
  • poetry
  • street art
  • concerts
  • festivals
  • dining
  • cooking
  • vegetarian
  • yoga
  • meditation
  • walking
  • gardening
  • clothing
  • flowers
  • team sports
  • traveling
  • music
  • electronic music
  • outdoor activities
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • camping
  • surfing
  • scuba diving
  • sports
  • basketball
  • soccer
  • handball
  • business
  • economics
  • study abroad
  • food
  • permaculture
  • chilling
  • trees
  • sunsets
  • lucid dreaming
  • daydreaming
  • live concerts
  • agroecology

Music, Movies, and Books

Music : hip-hop (US/UK and French rap) electronic music (minimal, techno, house)

Books: Le Petit Prince(Antoine de Saint Exupéry), L'Homme qui plantait des arbres (Jean Giono), Game of Thrones (George R. Martin), The 4th agreements (Don Miguel Ruiz), The power of Now (Eckart Tolle), On the Road (Jack Kerouac) , 1984 (George Orwell), A brave new world (Aldous Huxley), Northern Lights(Philip Pullman), Vergers (Maria Rainer Rilke) Shambala (Chogyäm Trungpa) Méditer jour après jour (Christophe André) Silo's trilogy (by Hugh Howey)..... and many many others! (also anything relating to history somehow is opening my curiosity!)

I also found of comics... I am a fucking big fan of it! I can devour "Bande-Déssinées' " for hours and hours... more the Belgian's type of comics though: graphic novels, about history, stuff like that,
here some of the series of the BD's I enjoyed the most:
Lanfeust de Troy (et des étoiles)
Murena
Peter Pan (Loisel)
Le Décalogue
Tintin
Astérix et Obélix
Lucky Luke
Zep's albums (Titeuf, The End, Un Bruit Etrange et Beau, ...)
Tramp
Les Aigles de Rome
.... etc
I've tons of them back home, a "BDthèque" kind of thing ahaha... so feel free to read some of them if you want during your venue at our place! (even few in english, spanish and german)

Movies: The Tree of Life, Only Lovers Left Alive, les Délices de Tokyo, le Caire confidentiel

Series : True Detective, Breaking Bad, Dexter, Lost, LA Casa de Papel

Documentaries : Human, Cowspiracy, Demain, Merci Patron!

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

trying to plant an edible forest in the Mediterreanean's (Provence)
my biggest dream in life is to plant trees everywhere in the world, and teach people how to take care about trees & plants!

Teach, Learn, Share

I love learning new language : I am native in French, fluent in English and currently learning Spanish so I am able to teach French, share my silly English, and learn some new Spanish palabras! I'm also able to understand a bit of German (I've lived 6months in Köln last year, working in a biological garden and with refugees), although it's still a bit too silly to speak properly but I love the language!

Also, I have been working for 8 years as holiday camp activity leader, so I like working and being with children in general

Now, more and more my knowledge and experience in permaculture is growing so I will be more than happy to share that also with you! I would love to show and teach about wild/edible vegetables and plants of Provence(and if you want, I can also show you to contemplate and love trees like I use to enjoy this kind of magnificience)...

What I Can Share with Hosts

My love for the French language,
My love for Music
My love for humans

and (in general)

My love for life

Countries I’ve Visited

Belgium, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, Morocco, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Scotland, Senegal, Spain, Switzerland, Wales

Countries I’ve Lived In

France, Germany, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Vincent’s full profile.

My Groups