Logo orange

Viona's Groups

Viona Wang

Serangoon, Singapore

Wants to Meet Up

Last login about 1 month ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Viona's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 16 Positive References
  • Fluent in Chinese, English; learning French, Japanese
  • 26, Female
  • Member since 2008
  • Freelance Writer & Photographer
  • University
  • From Singapore
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

After working in Singapore for a few years, I've decided to embark on another adventure, to master skiing and snowboarding in New Zealand!

I'm currently based in Queenstown and would love to meet some locals here to check out the non-touristic places of this amazing place. :)

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

A close friend introduced me to CS when I was in Europe for a student exchange programme in 2009. Travelling Europe wouldn't have been such a wonderful experience without CS. It is definitely a great opportunity for me to meet new friends and learn about their life experiences. There are so many different perspectives to life and it's really intriguing. No more typical touristic experiences for me, I'm in search for the awesome uniquely CS experience!

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I had 7 experiences so far; New York, Prague, Paris, Marseille, Venice, Florence and Rome. All are unique in their own ways and some CSers have become my very close friends!

CSing isn't just about finding a place to stay; it's about appreciating each other and creating a memorable experience together, while exploring new places and exchanging stories (good and bad!).

Interests

I love outdoor adventure, getting under the sun and soaking up with nature's beauty; trekking, diving, travelling and exploring. I enjoy capturing nature's beauty through photography.

I'm also a film junkie and some of my favourite movies include Memento, Rear Window, The Grand Budapest Hotel and Children of Men. There's so much more! I'll tell you when we meet!

Music, Movies & Books

Alternative rock (Coldplay, Radiohead, Lifehouse, The Perishers..), rock (RHCP, Electrico, Splender, Snow Patrol, Muse), indie (The xx, Temper Trap, Alt-J).

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Some of my favourite adventures was bungee jumping off the 220m Verzasca Dam in Switzerland, climbing 10 mountains in 10 days in Malaysia and jumping off a 10m high cliff in The Philippines. The rest are best shared in person. :)

Teach, Learn, Share

Keep chasing your happiness!

What I Can Share With Hosts

I was a part-time tutor for kids between seven and 16, teaching English, Math and Science. So if you have kids who may need help for homework or if you like to learn a bit of Chinese, I'm happy to assist!

If you need any help in cleaning or tidying the house, you've got a hard worker. I also like baking and cooking, and what way to enjoy CSing over a delicious meal? I'm not a celebrity chef but I sure know what tastes good! ;)

Countries I've Visited

Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Indonesia, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Jordan, Malaysia, Netherlands, New Zealand, Philippines, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States, Viet Nam

Countries I've Lived In

Sweden, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Viona's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile