Valerie Williams's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login about 1 month ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Valerie’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 2 References 1 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French; learning German, Italian, Portuguese
  • 62, Female
  • Member since 2008
  • Choreographer, work with interactive technologies
  • Master's degree in Human Computer Interaction, but I've b...
  • From Milwaukee, WI
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

I'm interested in exploring. Everything. I love to travel

ABOUT ME

I'm not a contented person, but I'm very happy. I love what I do. I'm a modern dancer and choreographer who is transitioning out of full-time performing.

PHILOSOPHY

There is so much to see and hear and taste and try that I need more lives than just this one.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING
I've hosted many people over the years, but only a few through the Couchsurfing site. I like the app, but it doesn't always work, which I find frustrating. I think the messaging should work all the time! host people through Couchsurfing, but also people who are passing through and need a place to stay.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE
I've used CouchSurfing infrequently in the past year, but I've been traveling and staying in people's homes for more than 30 years. I love meeting people and getting the scoop on living in a city.

Interests

I garden, read, travel and have many more projects than I can ever hope to accomplish.

  • performing arts
  • dancing
  • gardening
  • traveling

Music, Movies, and Books

Robertson Davies, Dorothy L. Sayers, Sherry Tepper, Laurie King, Jane Austen, Janice Weber, ... Those are just my most recent reads. I will read the back of cereal boxes if there isn't something else available.

Any music that isn't too loud.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

So many to choose from! I will never forget the road in South Dakota one April after a torrential rain - new black asphalt with bright yellow stripes, black sky to the East with the late afternoon sun lighting up last year's flaxen grasses and the new brilliant green grasses; then a cock pheasant flew across the road with all colors gleaming in the sunshine.

Teach, Learn, Share

Real-time interactive technologies and live performance. Changing the paradigm for building dancers.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I'm very good with computers and technology. I'm quiet and happy and love to converse and exchange stories. I'm very good at doing dishes.

Countries I’ve Visited

Canada, England, France, Germany, Italy, New Zealand, Portugal, Spain

Countries I’ve Lived In

United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Valerie’s full profile. It’s free!