Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 12 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Valerie’s full profile. It’s free!


  • 85 References 62 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French, German; learning Arabic, Chinese, Spanish
  • 28, Female
  • Member since 2008
  • travelling, learning, smiling
  • university, people, life
  • From Toronto, Ontario, Canada
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


Learn Spanish and Chinese!



*****Some tips on what to do :) *****
Free things
Wikitravel Article on Berlin
Cheap anarchist/lefty stuff (in German)

I'm a generally quiet but smiley person, known to laugh and sigh very loudly to relieve stress ;)

Into discovering small artsy "alternative" bars, cute cafés and teashops, going for walks, spending time by the water, having picnics, cooking, sharing music and conversation. Enjoy architecture and views, meeting new people and hearing their life stories.

visited 21 states (9.33%)Create your own visited map of The World or Like this? try: Worldsizer


It's the actions that count (rather than thoughts etc.)

Try to be honest and direct with oneself and others.

Everything is connected.

smiles make the world a better place! :) ^^ :D

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


Surf, host, otherwise spend time with couchsurfers.


Couchsurfing with really nice hosts in Europe, Canada, the US, activities with CS groups, hosting in Toulouse and Berlin.


talking, having serious discussions about new ideas, controversial ideas, out-there ideas, languages, reading (mostly fiction and in other languages). thinking, cycling, walking, yoga.
theatre, films, concerts.
table tennis, badminton, board games, cooking (vegetarian), baking (gluten-free), flute-playing.
trying to do something for others.

  • architecture
  • concerts
  • cooking
  • baking
  • vegetarian
  • yoga
  • walking
  • movies
  • board games
  • reading
  • traveling
  • music
  • cycling
  • tennis
  • table tennis
  • badminton
  • history
  • languages
  • solo travel

Music, Movies, and Books

cinéma québécois, random dramas and other films

electro, techno, French music, jazz, rock, classical, folk-y music, pretty much all live music.

Brave New World (Huxley), La Peste (Camus), Les Faux-Monnayeurs (Gide), Sophie's World (Gaarder), Ecotopia (Callenbach), Never Let Me Go (Ishiguro), Hesse

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Walking right up close to a huge mountain (Mt. Edith Cavell in the Canadian Rockies) with glaciers, big chunks of ice, feeling the icy air blow towards me and hearing ice falling from way up high

Four weeks of solo travel, but meeting a ton of really nice people through couchsurfing and otherwise. Very special experience in mystical Sintra (Portugal), Cabo da Roca and Portugal in general...

Starting a new life in Europe :D :D !

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach some English, German and French. I can share flute playing and cooking/baking :)
I'd like to learn Spanish and how to relax deeply, learning about some local history is cool too, like to practise Chinese

What I Can Share with Hosts

cooking, baking, flute music, English, German, French, stories

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Austria, Belgium, China, Cyprus, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Hungary, Italy, Netherlands, Norway, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Spain, Switzerland, Taiwan, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada, France, Germany, Taiwan

Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    10 Vouches
  • Pioneer 9e5c6d07410be6ad972e78858727f5a200c4ebab1f9bb897eb4d7cbee90959a8
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Valerie’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups