Volya Pavlenkov's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 45% response rate
  • Last login about 17 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Volya’s full profile.

Overview

  • 29 references 17 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Russian; learning Chinese, Chinese (Simplified), French, Spanish
  • 31, Male
  • Member since 2014
  • Lifeguard, biologist, mover, landscaper, handyman, and de...
  • Just got my Bachelors of Science in Biology. Planning on ...
  • From Winchester, MA, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Paying off my student loans and saving up for a new trip :)

ABOUT ME

I'm adventurous and love to learn. I value keeping my word and being honest. I like to be generous and to help people. I studied Biology at UMass Amherst and am now looking to further my education with a masters degree in either business or biotech, or a combination of the two. I love biking, swimming, singing, rapping, playing guitar, and traveling. I love to learn about the world through experiences and through reading. PHILOSOPHY Broadening my horizons in order to make a difference in the world. I also really enjoy learning and bettering myself. Looking to feel happy and satisfied by reaching my goals and by being a good person and giving back to my family, friends, and community.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I help people in whatever way I can. I like helping to complete projects with others. I help others monetarily when I can. I like to share my knowledge and experiences with others and in turn learn from them.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I couchsurfed in Costa Rica when I was 19 with my friend Kelsey. We stayed in San Jose and in Montezuma with couchsurfers when we weren't WWOOF'ing or staying in hostels. It was an awesome experience to stay with locals and to get a firsthand look at the places we stayed.

Interests

Guitar, piano, swimming, biking, spending time with family and friends, movies, slacklining, drawing, science, photography, meditation, and poetry, to name a few.

  • singing
  • partying
  • boating
  • chess
  • guitar
  • hiking
  • camping
  • scuba diving
  • skiing
  • tennis
  • biking

Music, Movies, and Books

Last few books I've read: 9 Stories by JD Salinger, Narcissus and Goldmund by Herman Hesse, and Ghengis Khan by RP Lister.

I like hip hop, classical, RnB, rock, soul, funk, and certain types of electronic music. I can go for downtempo and trance here and there as well. Deep house can be cool. I also like 90s pop hits haha.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I've flown a plane 10,000 ft in the air and I've been scuba diving 100 ft underwater. Two things but they're somewhat related so basically one thing ;)

Teach, Learn, Share

I know how to speak Russian fluently. I can say hello in about 20 languages. I know a lot about science. I play guitar and some piano and love to sing and freestyle rap. I would like to learn how to play the accordion and how to speak Spanish and Mandarin.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I can show you around Boston and the surrounding areas and can introduce you to some cool people. I know about a lot of events and about the natural beauty. If we have time to go on a road trip, I can bring you around New England. I know Cape Cod, Western Massachusetts and Vermont very well. I also know New Hampshire and Maine relatively well.

Countries I’ve Visited

Canada, China, Costa Rica, France, Honduras, Mexico, Russian Federation, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Volya’s full profile.