Vrej Partamian's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 9 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Vrej’s full profile.

Overview

  • 19 references 12 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Armenian, English, French; learning German, Spanish
  • 33, Male
  • Member since 2008
  • No occupation listed
  • BSc Environmental Geography
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Presently on a roadtrip through the US with my partner Félix.

ABOUT ME

I'm a curious cat. Curious to try new things, even things that may be less to my liking. I enjoy the outdoors (camping, hiking, cycling, jogging, mushroom picking) as much as I enjoy being indoors (reading/writing, playing video/board games, watching/discussing movies). I also like to go out for drinks once in awhile.

PHILOSOPHY

Que sera sera

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I have been on couchsurfing for more than 10 years now and whenever I travel to a new place, the first thing I do on couchsurfing is look for an available couch. Yes I am looking for a couch, but not just a couch. I want to avoid the impersonal aspect of hotels, so I make an effort in trying to find a local couchsurfing host. I analyze the profiles of prospective hosts and I look for things that pique my curiosity about the person, whether they are things that I relate to or new background info that I would eventually bring up if the couchsurfing occurs. Once at the person's house, I make sure to adapt to the person's home etiquette and his/her being. If the host is busy, then I go about my day visiting and hopefully we dine together or we hang out at some point during my stay. If the host is free, then it's great to plan an activity with her/him.

All this sounds like a robotic procedure, but it comes very naturally in real life. The reason why I don't have many references is because I tend to couchsurf without necessarily meeting through couchsurfing all the time. I met a lot of people on the road who have hosted me, especially in Central America.

Interests

Nowadays I try and go hiking every other weekend. I've taken a habit of trying to identify plants and mushrooms, especially the edible types. I also bought a book about animal tracking, so I try and find imprints to identify animals.

I also have taken up Bullet Journaling. I'm presently testing it out to see if it can help me be more organized in my day-to-day life.

  • writing
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • camping
  • geography
  • hitchhiking
  • films
  • foraging
  • mushroom picking
  • bookworm
  • animal tracking

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Scaring off a bear by singing Pavarotti while sh*tting my pants, figuratively speaking!

Teach, Learn, Share

Teaching and learning a new word in a foreign language is always fun.

Sharing worldviews no matter the differences.

Countries I’ve Visited

Afghanistan, Armenia, Belize, Costa Rica, Cyprus, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, England, France, Germany, Guatemala, Iceland, Italy, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Portugal, Spain, Switzerland, Thailand, United Arab Emirates

Countries I’ve Lived In

Afghanistan, Canada, France, Switzerland

Old School Badges

  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Vrej’s full profile.

My Groups