Vu Tuan Hai's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Accepting Guests

  • Last login 4 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Vu’s full profile.

Overview

  • 19 references 12 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Chinese, English, Vietnamese; learning Dutch, Indonesian, Malay
  • 29, Male
  • Member since 2013
  • English/Chinese Teacher
  • National Chiao Tung University, Taiwan
  • From Gia Nghĩa, Đắk Nông, Viet Nam
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

My name is Hai (海) from Vietnam. Many friends and teachers of mine call me Harry.

I finished my B.A. degree in Linguistics at National Chiao Tung University (國立交通大學) in Taiwan in June 2022. Now I am back in my hometown - Gia Nghia City, Dak Nong Province, Vietnam. If you ever come here, feel free to text me. I would be glad to tour you around!

Before going to Taiwan, I studied Economics for 2 years in Vietnam and then went on an exchange programme in Surabaya, Indonesia for 5 months. After that, I made the biggest decision of my life which was to quit school. I then took 2 gap years before applying for scholarships to pursue an undergraduate programme again.

During my 2 gap years, I did a 1-month internship in Bandar Lampung, Indonesia, worked part-time as an IELTS teacher, and attended some fully-funded or partially-funded student short courses in Cambodia, Indonesia, Japan and Singapore. In addition, I also went backpacking alone for 3 months to 9 Asian countries in 2017.

Further information about me can be obtained from my blog https://vutuanhai.wordpress.com/

Feel free to message me on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Vutuanhai/

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I want to meet foreigners and get to know more about their customs and culture. At the same time, I also want to introduce Vietnamese culture to foreigners.

Interests

I am into listening to music. Recently, I have listened to Taiwanese music a lot.
I also like reading books about languages and traveling.

Moreover, I am really into backpacking together with my friends to explore places that we have never been to. I prefer doing so by motorbike than by bus because I can observe everything on my way to the destination although it is a bit dangerous if I do not concentrate on riding my motorbike XD

  • culture
  • books
  • reading
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • music
  • backpacking
  • economics
  • teaching
  • tourism
  • mountains

Music, Movies, and Books

Favorite singers: Eric Chou and some other Taiwanese singers.

Movies? I do not watch them very often.

My favorite book: The Culture Map by Erin Meyer.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

1/ Went backpacking alone to 9 Asian countries in 3 months (At the end of July to the end of October 2017).

2/ Took a 10-day meditation course in Sikkim, India.

3/ Persuaded a stranger to pay for my rickshaw and bus fare from Bandaranaike International Airport, Colombo to Negombo, Sri Lanka because I could not exchange money at the airport.

4/ Explained to the immigration officer at Changi Airport for around 10 minutes that I would only stay in Singapore for 2 days because I supposed that he suspected me of doing something illegal LOL.

5/ Did not cry at the airport in the Philippines because of a booking change with Cebu Pacific Airlines haha.

6/ Survived on a freaking freezing ferry from Kota Kinabalu to Labuan for 3.5 hours haha. Thought I was frozen on the ferry.

7/ Visited the equatorial monument in Pontianak, Indonesia.

Teach, Learn, Share

I want to become a/an Chinese/Math/English teacher at an international school.

I want to share my experiences and knowledge with everybody.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Food, mattress, blanket, pillows, information about traveling, laughter and joy!!

Countries I’ve Visited

Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, India, Indonesia, Japan, Malaysia, Myanmar, Philippines, Singapore, Sri Lanka, Taiwan, Thailand

Countries I’ve Lived In

Indonesia, Taiwan, Viet Nam

Join Couchsurfing to see Vu’s full profile.

My Groups