Fotos de Wade Campbell

Perfil verificado

  • Pagamento Verificado
  • Telefone Verificado
  • Documento de identidade não verificado
  • Endereço Não Verificado

Não Aceita Hóspedes

  • Último login há 3 days

Registre-se no Couchsurfing para ver o perfil completo de Wade. É grátis!

Visão geral

  • 10 Referência 4 Confirmado e Positivo
  • Fluent in English; learning French, Navajo, Navaho, Spanish
  • 29, Male
  • Membro desde 2010
  • NM Native / 3rd yr Archaeology PhD student in Boston
  • BA, Archaeological Studies.
  • De Gallup, NM
  • Perfil 100% concluído

Sobre Mim

CURRENT MISSION

Herding sheep on Black Mesa, Navajo Nation, as part of my archaeology dissertation research into the early history of Navajo sheepherding.

ABOUT ME

Grew up on the Navajo Nation in the US Southwest. Did undergrad back east and studied archaeology. I worked throughout the US and all over the world as both a "shovelbum" and an in-house archeo for an int'l environmental consultancy before deciding to go back to school. I've since come to realize as I get older/more wrapped up in various obligations that the opportunity to travel isn't as common. As such, I've been trying to leave a little more room for spontaneous trips to cool places (the most recent being Mexico City over Thanksgiving).

PHILOSOPHY

As a Navajo, I was taught that one's life is a neverending search for "hozho" or harmony. Central to this is a basic respect for all things, an awareness of the power of action, thought, and word, and a drive to make the best out of the opportunities that are presented to you.

Por que estou no Couchsurfing?

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I've surfed a lot more than I've hosted, but I believe in the CS mission and - at the very least - am more than happy to offer advice/recs for those traveling through the greater Four Corners region of the Southwest USA.

My best experiences when traveling have been those random partnerships (and friendships) struck up while traveling. Case in point, the guy in Mexico City who lent me an EcoBici pass, the folks in Washington State who hosted me when I was working (and helped me find a summer sublet!), the Mormon at Macchu Picchu, the Canadian sisters in Arequipa, the Canadian vet in Pretoria, the stranded Israeli, the list goes on and on...

CS allows open-minded people to connect in such a way that even mundane events often gain a little something *extra*. I've loved my CS experiences and once I've a place to call my own, I'll definitely be opening up my couch!

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

- During my "shovelbum" days in the summer of 2012, I used CS to explore different parts of the Pacific Northwest that I was working in. People made me welcome all along my route, and I got to see a ton (especially in Eastern Washington).

- Had my first CS experience while traveling from Mali to Paris in the winter of '11/'12. I had excellent experiences with all my hosts - not only did they make me feel perfectly at home, but they often facilitated my random desires in each city (e.g., exploring the remains of Roman Cordoba).

- I used CS's 'social' features while in Paris to see a different side of the city by spending an awesome afternoon playing soccer with a bunch of CSers. There was something really cool and chill about meeting a bunch of Colombian expats who'd opened up their weekly game to CS, having a great kickaround, and following it up with a beer and West Africa food in the 10th Arrondissement.

Interesses

Playing and Watching Soccer.
Doing Archaeology.
Eating as much Food as possible wherever I go - absolutely love sampling street food and experiencing different cuisines.
I garden.
I enjoy taking photos as well, both film and digital.
Love being outdoors and hiking/trekking, canoeing, and simply getting away from the bustle of cities.
I love biking too. MTB in NM, bike-commuting in DC and Boston, or using it as a way to explore new places - they're all great!

  • photography
  • cooking
  • beer
  • gardening
  • traveling
  • outdoor activities
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • soccer
  • food
  • mountain biking
  • film photography
  • archaeology
  • maps

Músicas, Filmes e Livros

This is so unfair... I'm a PhD student, so I read for a living. My music tastes are eclectic to say the least, but I love the blues. As for movies, well, I'll watch anything from B-movies to award winners (with the exception of horror movies...).

Uma Coisa Incrível que Eu Fiz

I don't really think I've done anything truly "Amazing" (as I think that's a pretty high bar), but here instead are a "Selection of Random Occurrences, Travels and Events" that I think are (personally) interesting:

- Helped a college classmate build a log cabin in the Northeast Kingdom of Vermont.
- Led an archaeological field team for 8 weeks in the forests of eastern Nicaragua looking for sites.
- Traveled from Mali in December 2011 with an awesome English guy I met in Bamako and traveled overland to Paris via Mauritania, W. Sahara, Morocco, and Spain. Absolute awesome trip and met some great people.
- Visited China as an impressionable 14 year old.
- Visited Macchu Picchu only to find my camera was broken.
- Fixed broken camera at Macchu Picchu with a ballpoint pen and eyeglass repair kit.
- Asked if I'd consider being a model while ambling along the streets of Seville.
- Celebrated my 21st birthday by drinking beers out of a vuvuzela in Pretoria, ZA during the 2010 World Cup
- Training with the local soccer team in Djenné, Mali and being the only white guy
- Living and working in Huanchaco, Peru for 6 weeks on an archeo'l project with a bunch of cool Peruvian archeos.

O Que Posso Compartilhar com Anfitriões

Stories, cooking (and dishwashing!), a laid-back attitude, and really low maintenance approach to traveling/Couchsurfing. I also tend to bring something New Mexican with me as a gift...

Países que Visitei

Canada, China, France, Israel, Mali, Martinique, Mauritania, Mexico, Morocco, Nicaragua, Peru, South Africa, Spain, Western Sahara

Países em que Morei

France, Mali, Morocco, Nicaragua, Spain, United States

Registre-se no Couchsurfing para ver o perfil completo de Wade. É grátis!