Tom Stockwell's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login 7 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Tom’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 115 References 104 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Chinese, French, Korean
  • 31, Male
  • Member since 2009
  • English Teacher
  • BA in English Lit
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Readjusting to life in the UK after eight years of living in Asia!

ABOUT ME

Instagram & Snapchat: waegook_tom

OK, self-promotion over with. Now a bit about little me :P

I'd say I'm fairly friendly and approachable, reasonably amusing, quite talkative, and hopefully nice and kind. I also like to take my surfers to eat at some great local places around my home.

COUCHSURFERS REQUESTING TO STAY WITH ME, PLEASE READ:

- If you don't write my name (Tom) when sending me a CouchRequest, I will decline you with no explanation.

- I can only host one person at a time. No exceptions. Just you. Not you and your partner. Not you and a friend. Not you and a parent, or a kid. Just you. If you request for more than one person, I will decline with no explanation.

- Fill out your profile. Write more than one sentence about yourself. Have more than one photo. You're asking to stay in a person's HOME, not a hotel. I want to know about you!

- Communicate! I want to talk to you! If you're going to be late, try to let me know, too. Don't leave me hanging.

- Clean up the room after you've left. That means make the bed and put trash in the trash can in the room. You'd think this was common sense, but apparently not.

- I'm an LGBT friendly host, and I won't tolerate homophobia or transphobia in my home. Gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender guests are more than welcome.

- If you're vegan or vegetarian, I can help you out and give you some recommendations. Or we could just cook!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Interacting with people from around the world, and hosting people. Talk to me! I don't care if your English isn't perfect, after all I was an English teacher and I had to be able to understand little kids who knew about twenty words of English. If you're able to read most of my profile, I think we'll do just fine!

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I've hosted guests from...
The USA / Philippines / Singapore / South Korea / Ireland / China / Taiwan / Mexico / Thailand / Canada / Germany / Ecuador / The UK / Brunei / Colombia / Czechia / Malaysia / Netherlands / Ukraine / Switzerland / France / Israel / New Zealand / El Salvador / Vietnam / Australia / Japan / Italy

I've surfed in...
Australia / Turkey / Poland / Lithuania / The USA / Colombia / Canada / Germany / Romania / Philippines / Hong Kong / Cambodia / Thailand / Laos / Malaysia / Singapore

Don't see your country in the list of people I've hosted? Send me a decent request and we'll see what we can do :)

Interests

I'm always planning my next trip! In 2016 I went to Seoul, the USA, Mexico, Kaohsiung, Taichung and Jakarta, and in 2017 I've been to Manila, Hong Kong, Cambodia, Bangkok, Laos, Malaysia and Singapore so far.

I love to eat and to counter that, I work out quite regularly. I enjoy reading, and have set myself a challenge to read 40 books in 2017, doing the Popsugar Reading Challenge (check it out if you like to read). I have two dogs, so devote quite a lot of my time to taking care of them - remember, adopt don't shop!

  • dogs
  • cooking
  • cocktails
  • coffee
  • working out
  • walking
  • movies
  • reading
  • music
  • squash
  • travel
  • gym
  • game of thrones
  • rupaul's drag race

Music, Movies, and Books

Movies: Clueless, Mean Girls, Sister Act, Children of Men, Kingsman, Finding Nemo, X-Men movies, Sisters, Spotlight, Romy & Michele's High School Reunion, The Orphanage, Miss Congeniality, Real Steel, Legally Blonde, Run Lola Run, Horrible Bosses, The Hateful Eight, Easy A, Drop Dead Gorgeous, The Dressmaker, The Others, The Proposal, Bridesmaids, Pitch Perfect, My Neighbour Totoro, Beauty and the Beast, Jurassic Park, Mrs Doubtfire, Spy, Cruel Intentions, The Boss, Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children, Hidden Figures

Music: Girls Aloud, Paloma Faith, Kelis, Sugababes, Hot Chip, Basement Jaxx, Cyndi Lauper, Grace Jones, Faithless, P!NK, Britney Spears, Disclosure, Daft Punk, The Saturdays, Little Dragon, Kylie Minogue, Hurts, V V Brown, TLC, Roisin Murphy, Destiny's Child, Dolly Parton, Fifth Harmony, Beyoncé, Björk, The Knife, Robyn, Madonna, 2NE1, Alex Newell, Jamelia

Books:
The Kite Runner
One Hundred Years of Solitude
Middlesex
The Thorn Birds
The Historian
Sweet Sour
House of the Spirits
Five Quarters of the Orange
The Good Women of China
Memoirs of a Geisha
The Memory Keeper's Daughter
Maya Angelou's autobiographical series
The Green Mile
The Shadow of the Wind

TV (because why not):
Game of Thrones
RuPaul's Drag Race
Friends
Futurama
Will & Grace
The Inbetweeners
Orange Is The New Black
Sex and the City
Green Wing
The Simpsons
Family Guy
American Dad
Grace And Frankie
South Park
The Most Popular Girls in School (YouTube series)

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Moving to South Korea, and later Taiwan, finding jobs, making friends, and learning some of the language of each country.

Surviving -28C weather in central Europe without a particularly warm coat. Must be the body hair. And layers....and vodka.

Not dying while descending the steps at the Big Buddha in Hong Kong. Seriously, those steps are steep. Plus I'm awful with heights, so it's an achievement for me.

Teach, Learn, Share

Teaching English, it's what I used to do for a living after all! I can help with anything for grammar to some more 'colourful' colloquial phrases, should you wish ;)

I also know all the countries and their capitals, should the need ever arise for such knowledge.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Conversation! I'm a talker, that's for sure, and hopefully you'll think I can hold a decent conversation about a lot of different things.

Travel tips if I've been anywhere that you're wanting to go.

I can also try and come up with a drag name for you. Mine is Beverley Pills. I don't do drag, but you never know when it may come in handy at a party, or when fabricating your future time on RuPaul's Drag Race. Not that I ever do that.

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Austria, Belgium, Cambodia, Canada, Colombia, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Hong Kong, Hungary, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, Lithuania, Macao, Malaysia, Mexico, Moldova, Netherlands, Philippines, Poland, Romania, Russian Federation, Serbia, Singapore, Slovakia, South Korea, Taiwan, Thailand, Turkey, Ukraine, United Kingdom, United States, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

South Korea, Taiwan, United Kingdom

Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    1 Vouch
  • Pioneer 9e5c6d07410be6ad972e78858727f5a200c4ebab1f9bb897eb4d7cbee90959a8
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Tom’s full profile. It’s free!