Logo orange

Ryan McKeough

Melbourne, Victoria, Australia

Not Accepting Guests

Last login 11 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Ryan's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 9 Positive References
  • Fluent in English; learning French
  • 27, Male
  • Member since 2010
  • Physiotherapist
  • Masters Degree
  • From Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
  • Profile 65% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Adventure wrapped in humour and self-discovery

ABOUT ME

I'm a Canadian living in Australia. I believe that travelling and being on your own are fantastic ways to learn about yourself and at times, step outside of your comfort zone.

I enjoy local cafes and shops, meeting different people, and exploring new places.

I am a vegan, which means I do not eat animal products, and this is a very important part of my life.

I took a big leap in leaving my family and friends behind and moving to the other side of the planet, so I can completely relate to travelers who feel overwhelmed, homesick, or nervous. Cheer up though, it's all a fun ride! :-)

PHILOSOPHY

-The greater the challenge, the greater the victory.

-Live simply, so others may simply live.

I am still learning about myself and developing my views on life. At the moment and I am very much against discrimination based on choices or lifestyles. I don't understand why people care so much about how others choose to live, especially if it isn't affecting them.

I live my life to learn and grow and contribute. I want to leave something behind. Too many people are concerned with leaving a legacy, but I feel that just living passionately and with good intentions will leave others with memories and experiences of you that won't be forgotten.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Happy to offer a place for surfers to crash. I'm particularly interested in providing other vegans and vegetarians with a tour of the oh so veggie friendly city of Melbourne!

I don't get to check CS on a daily basis, so I may miss your request if it is shortly before your arrival. With that in mind, we prefer people to message us in advance if they are looking to stay with us. We understand that occasionally this isn't possible though :-)

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Very positive! What an awesome community to be a part of :-)

Interests

First and foremost, I am very passionate about fitness. I enjoy various types of fitness activities and sport, with my favourites being running and mixed martial arts.

I am interested in the welfare of all living creatures. I am trying to make my life as free of exploitation and cruelty as possible through the choices I make in my diet and my purchases.

I like to sing and play guitar, although I am really only starting to learn how to do both.

I really like vegan cooking. I find it very exciting as it can be a total adventure with spices and ingredients in a way I find isn't suited for meat dishes.

Music, Movies & Books

-I am into comedy films above all else! Laughter really is the best medicine!

-Classic rock is my music of choice. Bring on AC/DC, Aerosmith, The Faces, The Beatles etc. and I will be a happy guy!

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Spending a summer working with individuals with physical and intellectual impairments. What an eye-opening and life changing experience it was :-)

Teach, Learn, Share

Share:

I am more than willing to show you a vegan recipe of mine.

I can develop you a personalised exercise/rehab routine/plan to suit your preferences and lifestyle, provide hands on physiotherapy/acupuncture or I can just be a workout buddy! I am a Physiotherapist, and my degree, profession, and lifestyle focuses around healthy living.

Learn:

Languages!

Guitar and singing!

More about cooking!

More about you!!!

Countries I've Visited

Canada, Mexico, New Zealand, United States

Countries I've Lived In

Australia, Canada

Join Couchsurfing to see Ryan's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile