Way PapaMuse's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login almost 2 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Way’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 10 References 9 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Spanish
  • 50, Male
  • Member since 2013
  • Music promoter / Environmental Activist / marketing &amp...
  • Bachelor's degree from State University at Oneonta NY
  • From NY, USA
  • Profile 95% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To explore this planet as far and wide as I can.

ABOUT ME

I am younger than my age, and I often feel like a child, I am playful and honest. I am unsure where I will settle so I keep moving. I want to see what opens up for me as I redefine my life and every day brings new opportunity and possibility. I welcome new challenges and adventures as I learn about the world.
I am quick to share about myself and I enjoy listening and learning about others as well. Sometimes, just being a good listener empowers people and helps them find direction and I enjoy being a contribution to people. I enjoy uplifting and inspiring people whenever possible. We are all mirrors for each other.
I pride myself in my integrity to do what I say I will do. I believe that communicating my true feelings is essential and that anything can be conveyed with tact and compassion.
I am wild and adventurous but also very grounded and practical, and I am told that I have a great sense of humor and quick wit. I am fascinated with how other cultures live and I love to travel. I am a musician and I love finding new music. I am extremely adaptable, full of energy, fun, and I love meeting new people and learning new things. I won't bother telling you about my faults but I have some of those too (lol).

PHILOSOPHY

I believe that there are only two main motivating forces in the world, fear and love. I believe that all human beings behavior is in reaction to these forces. I believe that much of the time, humans are well intentioned, but through mis-communications or inability to follow through with one's intentions, people can often cause disappointment and emotional frustration and pain. I believe in clear and direct communication and finding compromise and common ground. I believe that almost any conflict or difference of opinion can be understood with compassion. And sometimes it is better to give in and let go of a point of view, if it allows resolution and closeness between people. Being right isn't always the most important thing.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I love to eat local food and will gladly buy groceries and pitch in. I love being invited to local happenings and events and mingling with people. I love to play music. I enjoy cooking and doing dishes and making myself useful. I used to run a hostel in Ithaca NY (USA) but I have rarely been on the receiving end of this hospitality until recently.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

It started 20 years ago when I used to spend my winters traveling through Mexico living in my car or renting a hammock. I traveled slowly on back roads through small towns, and I was invited into people's homes for meals and to bathe.
In the last few years I traveled through much of Europe, often staying with hosts from Couchsurfing. Staying with local people is much more enjoyable for me than staying in a hostel or hotel, because locals have pride for there communities and usually know the best places to visit that aren't necessarily tourist destinations.
Getting to know local people is usually the most memorable part of my trips.

Interests

I am an avid music lover and a musician. I play guitar and write songs. I also play drums and hand percussion and bass guitar. Going out to see live music is one of my favorite things to do. I also love to play basketball. I enjoy most sports as a participant and a spectator. I also love to play Chess and meditate and nature.

  • singing
  • festivals
  • dining
  • cooking
  • running
  • meditation
  • chess
  • traveling
  • music
  • live music
  • guitar
  • drums
  • sports
  • basketball
  • communications
  • psychology
  • tourism

Music, Movies, and Books

I generally enjoy comedies or fun action filled movies. I don't watch much television but when I do, I usually enjoy light and funny programs that relax me and make me laugh. I am sometimes in the mood for Woody Allen and sometimes in the mood for Family Guy. I love listening to music and have very diverse musical taste. I am a die hard rock music fan but I also appreciate world music, jazz, reggae, and any music that has originality.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I created a major music festival that was free and open to the public, but cooperatively run by its attendees. I had no money to start it, but enrolled the community to donate goods and services and barter for resources. We built a culturally rich weekend event that evolved into a longstanding annual gathering of thousands of loving people. The event, called The Musefest, was held in Ithaca NY and displayed local musicians from different genres on three stages, as well as artisans, and it created cultural tourism. It provided a special pride for attendees and many long standing relationships were formed as a result. When I had the initial vision of presenting a free but cooperatively run music festival back in the year 2000, I had no idea what it would grow into. It's amazing what can be achieved with unstoppable determination and cooperation from people. The event had a life of it's own, and now I know that we can accomplish great things in this life.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach some music. I am also a great moderator as I have exceptional communication skills (at least in English). I was a sales trainer and I understand quite a bit about psychology and why people do what they do. I have a lot of common sense and problem solving skills. I have worked in many different occupational fields and enjoy sharing what I know if someone is interested.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I enjoy cooking and I always keep clean. I am happy to wash dishes and cook meals. I can also play guitar and sing my songs if you enjoy that.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Canada, Czech Republic, England, France, Germany, Greece, Italy, Kenya, Mexico, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, Turkey, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

Kenya, Spain, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Way’s full profile. It’s free!