Wes Tator's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Accepting Guests

  • 40% response rate
  • Last login 15 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Wes’s full profile.

Overview

  • 9 references 7 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English
  • 78, Male
  • Member since 2016
  • No occupation listed
  • MBA, LEED AP
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

This profile is in play and rebuild. What follows is in essence a draft. I intend that it be settled by the first of May, just in time for the summer season.

I am blessed to live in a small city where it is said we have more restaurant seats per capita than any other city, at least in the US. We are a vibrant community with lots of construction, mostly residential. One of our natural is the Piscataqua River which is already generating electricity, given the power of its' inflow and outflow. The arts are a centerpiece of our city with a city plan for creating a bright future. On the other hand, we are city within a state where the deck is stacked on behalf of Landlords. We are a city where community participation in government is thinner than rainforest soil. I truly love living here.
High season is summer to New Year's Eve. New Years day it is like the lights went out and real vibrancy goes to sleep. Now this is my take on the cycle. Each year seems to find more people interested and happy to be here during the winter season.

In the summer, there are festivals, concerts, beaches, and places to rent bikes, and kayaks. Particularly in May and June, there is great striper fishing right off the shore. (And I have a rod you can use.)

People say of me that I am like a walking chamber of commerce. This reminds me that we have a great Chamber that refers to itself primarily as a collaborative.

We are a very walkable city, from one side to the other is maybe 20 minutes.

We take our history very seriously (sometimes a bit over the top if you ask me) This is the birthplace of the US Navy. Today, we are one of, I think, 2 major submarine overhaul sites in the country. In fact, "The Shipyard" is the biggest employer in the seacoast area of which Portsmouth is the crown jewel.

I live in a small apartment inside of maybe the biggest apartment building in Portsmouth, 137 units on 6 floors. It is a small space, but each party has some space.

Here are the controversial parts of me, at least for some people. I am very casual about clothing within the apartment. I like to refer to myself as a feminist as the imbalance of the scales between men and women is sill so rigged. Of course, this extends to all people of the Global majority as well as those who are "mentally ill" or "handicapped". This being said, I no longer consider myself to be a liberal. In the words of Tich Nhat Hanh, #we are here to awaken from the illusion of separateness" This is my mantra and mission.

I work full-time at the local Home Depot as a specialist in windows doors and trim. I love my job which is very counter-cultural, particularly in a very large company such as Home Depot. For me it is kind of like it would have been like being one of the services if the Vietnam War did not get in the way. Instead, I declared myself a conscious objector and did alternative service with my draft board's blessing.

I am 78 now and am starting to discover that I have many stories that people find interesting, often funny and always very human.

Regardless of who you are, I consider myself at your service, yes even that guy. This is part of my church," to appreciate the worth and dignity of all people". It is part of what I signed up for when I declared myself a C.O.
In the words of GB Shaw, "This is the true joy in life, being used for a purpose recognized by yourself as a mighty one...."

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I love traveling and hosting travelers when I can. Couchsurfing is a natural fit. Couchsurfing appeals to me as a way to meet open people and stay inexpensively for fairly short periods of time in setings that are not as sterile as hotels.

Music, Movies, and Books

I tend towards acoustic, jazz and blues with a bit of 60's, 70's, and 80's rock thrown in ...I listen and dance to Voulez Vous, by Abba every morning as I shower and shave. I have Bonnie Raitt, 70's music, Leonard Cohen's Hallejulah, Bob Marley, Tantric and Orgasmic music , the Silkroad Ensemble and another that I can't recall on my favorites list of Spotify.

I used to love literature, it was a minor in college. I still love it, but do not hang out there. I am currently reading Climate Optimism and climate mindfulness.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I once hitch-hiked across the US and back. It was amazing to me that I started the local chapter of an international non-profit. I was part of a lawsuit that preserved graduate student deferments during the Vietnam War and later managed the finances of the first rural methadone program.

Teach, Learn, Share

Share knowledge about Climate Change and related politics. Share cooking of various types with learning and teaching depending on the dishes. Teach basics of commercial real estate investment. I can share the experience of living in a community with its opportunities and challenges. I have also skiied and sailed a lot.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Myself good conversation perhaps accompanied by food and wine. At parties, I am the guy who creates and manages the physical space. At the end of community events, I am always part of the clean-up team. I do not take myself too seriously; it is not good for anyone's health and really gets in the way of humor.

Countries I’ve Visited

Canada, England, India, Ireland, Mexico, Nepal, Netherlands, Virgin Islands, British

Join Couchsurfing to see Wes’s full profile.