West Taitei

Cambridge, England, United Kingdom

Not Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login 2 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see West’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Graduate Student
  • BA Construction Engineering, MPhil Social Anthropology
  • From Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


Share stories. Share Experiences. Pursue my passions.


I am an Australian currently living and studying as a research student in Cambridge UK. I am originally a construction engineer who has travelled extensively for 3 years solo. That has taken me from the Australian outback to small surf towns in the Canadian rainforest. I also hitchiked most of the west coast of the US surfing / couchsurfing.

Right now I am doing anthropological research on the relationship between the gas mines and the indigenous communities within the Peruvian Amazon. Couch surfing would be a great way to hear local insights on this issues, as well as sharing other stories along the way :)

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I have had a brief hiatus of couch surfing while studying abroad, but my experiences have involved surfing, hosting, talking, sharing, meeting! Any way I can. So many wicked souls in the community!


A few things run at my core and keep me going. A HEALTHY LIFE; running, lifting, eating clean, meditating. LEARNING; academically in the institution, reading a random book, podcasting or chatting with a stranger. MUSIC; everything to do with it! NATURE; surfing is like breathing, but I get similar breath from other parts where nature shines.

Music, Movies, and Books

Dylan, Young, Floyd, Tool, Karnivool, Nine Inch Nails. Diverse, but so is life.

Books - Vegabonding, Walking by Thoreau, Sex at Dawn (Chris Ryan), anything by Neil Gainman. Many more!

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Living and volunteering on community in Arnhem Land (Indigenous Australia) and everything that came along with it!

Teach, Learn, Share

I use to play professional football (soccer) in Australia.

I have been a quaified Tae Kwon Do instructor since I was and was in the olympic demonstration team for the 2000 Sydney Olympics.

Life long surfer. Personal Trainer. Contruction Engineer. Anthropologist. Hitchiker. Vegabonder.

Countries I’ve Visited

Canada, Indonesia, Malaysia, Netherlands, New Zealand, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, Canada, United Kingdom

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see West’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups