Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 1 month ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Wendy’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 2 References 1 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French, Spanish; learning Japanese
  • 49, Female
  • Member since 2010
  • Currently I teach French Kindergarten, before: drama, ESL...
  • Travel, Theatre/Poli Sci, Internatl Dev, Cultural Studies...
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To parent and teach children to know and care about themselves so that they can care about others, and help get the planet on track.

ABOUT ME

Not easy to write down. The only things that I am afraid of are losing one of my children and high heights. This means that I have experienced a lot in this life so far. I will take risks (I allowed one of my students to coax me to the top of a look out perch above the Amazonian canopy) but I now also take steps to preserve my life since becoming a mother. My interests and potential commitments are so wide-ranging that I often desire more than one physical body. My lifestyle and behaviour are now guided by what seems to be in the best interest of my three children. This was a significant change, but no less complex. I used to pedastal the best interests of the world, but I think that life can become confusing for your young intimates (and your older ones?) if you are determined to do both at the same time with the same intensity. Kudos to those who feel their life missions aligning. Parenting Camilo, 24, Ella, 17, and Liam, 15, is my biggest commitment. Making Kindergarten "fun for everyone" comes in a close second. Keeping my home organized should be third. Instead, I run the drama club and coach soccer teams!

PHILOSOPHY

We can all learn something new someday, do things differently, convince someone else, so I think that eventually the world will heal. But maybe earth is a planetary skateboarder. Ice, water and bandages?

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I joined CS because I wanted my children to experience things that might come only through travel and/or meeting others. The web can be an entry point, but I am face-to-face old-fashioned I guess.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Lots in the 80s and 90s, but I usually met people in person first while travelling. I was car/truck/boat couch surfing I guess. A trucker once let me sleep in his cab bed from Saskatchewan to Ontario! When he took rest breaks, I was on the restaurant's couch!

Interests

People, their places, cross-country skiing, cycling, canoeing, climbing high hills or mountains (that don't need ropes), camping, all music genres, especially live, all theatre, dance and performance art, especially live, any movie that does not rely on graphic shock value.

  • arts
  • performing arts
  • music festivals
  • dancing
  • education
  • coach
  • traveling
  • music
  • cycling
  • canoeing
  • camping
  • skiing
  • teaching

Music, Movies, and Books

Most, unless they exploit graphic and gratuitous violence that is not historical. I embraced Ghandi but I still self-censoring many film scenes. I will read personal experiences of tragedy, but not for pleasure. Next, I plan to read my friend Julie Kirkpatrick's new book, The Camino Letters.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Birthed my three children at home with midwives, and my two youngest into water

Teach, Learn, Share

I am good at helping people learn how to get along with people (I've had challenging partners and bosses), how to communicate from a stage, how to explain your feelings and needs, how to use natural medicine, raising healthy children, teaching, drama education

What I Can Share with Hosts

Conversation, cooked meals, bicycle trail rides around Peterborough, live outdoor concerts and music in bars.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, China, Colombia, Costa Rica, El Salvador, Germany, Greece, Guatemala, Honduras, India, Indonesia, Italy, Luxembourg, Mexico, Morocco, Nicaragua, Panama, Philippines, Spain, Switzerland, Thailand, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada, Ecuador, France, Japan

Old School Badges

  • Pioneer 9e5c6d07410be6ad972e78858727f5a200c4ebab1f9bb897eb4d7cbee90959a8
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Wendy’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups