Logo orange

Brent Martin

New Smyrna Beach, FL, United States

Accepting Guests

29% response rate · Last login 8 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Brent's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 49 Positive References
  • Fluent in English; learning Spanish
  • 26, Male
  • Member since 2011
  • Deckhand, waiter, photographer
  • University of North Florida 10'
  • From New Smyrna Beach, FL, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Enjoy being home

ABOUT ME

I am just a man. I have goals and dreams to which most will never come true. But I'll keep trying.

Hi. I'm Brent. I'm just about to turn 26. I live in New Smyrna Beach, Florida. AKA paradise. My heart lies in photography and travel. Well, most of it. The other half lies in everything else. What's not to love?!

I just recently came back home after traveling the country for a few years. These past few years have taught me a lot about the world and myself. I'll get back out there when the time comes but for now I'm just enjoying being back home and enjoying aspects of life you just cannot enjoy whilst traveling and being on the move.

PHILOSOPHY

Continuing from my last statement saying that both types of my differing lifestyles are neither good nor bad, I believe this applies to most things in life. There are only differing perspectives. Nothing is inherently good or bad. And if there is I'm still learning it. Did I mention I was high whilst filling in all this? I really hate filling out online profiles of any kind. I suck with words and don't ever know what to say. Ugh.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I've done mostly surfing and that alone has had a great impact of my life. Being home now I look forward to hosting and the experiences it will bring!

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Well as I've said I've done a lot of surfing. I've met a lot of different individuals, seen many new places, experienced all new kinds of food and activities, etc. I'm too high right now, to get into great detail because with all I have to say I could write a book on all my amazing experiences...

I have had some unique experiences however. I've conquered mountains with surfers, experience wonderful festivals with surfers, I took a sailboat out with a surfer, jumped off and swam to a secret island with her once, I've eaten "guinea pig" meat with a surfer, roller derby, drank with surfers, done drugs with surfers (the good kinds I swear), became best friends with some, even rode a bicycle across the country with one after surfing with them for over 4 months!

You just never know!

Interests

While I'm home... Going out after work, working, the beach, being online, games, making new friends in a place where I've resided for over a decade. Sounds funny but it can be hard making friends somewhere you live and where you subject yourself to the same stimulus everyday.

When I'm "on the road"... Breathing, eating, sleeping, smelling, tasting, listening, wind in my face, getting up early, trying new things, making myself sometimes uncomfortable.

I live two lives.

One is based on comfort. And overindulgence. I go to sleep late and wake up late. I work for "the man". I'm stuck in a routine. I follow societies rules for me.

The other is based on discomfort. Tolerance. Discipline. Forcing myself to do new things, meeting new people, seeing new places. Everyday is different. Everyday I'm exposed to a new set of stimulus. I go to sleep early and wake up early.

Neither is good nor bad.

Join Couchsurfing to see Brent's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile