Whitney Bowerman's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login about 1 month ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Whitney’s full profile.

Overview

  • 5 references 4 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English
  • 43, Female
  • Member since 2018
  • Stay at home parent
  • Bachelor's in Biology, Master's in Environmental Studies
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Edit for COVID times 8/24/21:
We have not been hosting during Covid, as our family has been pretty locked down. Our kids are too young to be vaccinated and we won't be hosting anyone in our home until they are vaccinated. As well, my husband is using the spare room as an office.

We can definitely host people in RVs and such, but hosting inside our home is not feasible right now.

----
I have lived in Olympia for 25 years (I moved here to attend The Evergreen State College), and my husband is an Olympia native. I am a mostly stay at home mom to two girls, ages 6 (1st grade) and 9 (3rd grade), and work part-time in homeless services. In my spare time I am active in local politics and in the local community, primarily around social justice issues - my current focus is around homelessness and housing insecurity. My academic background is in Biology (BS) and Environmental Science (MA). My husband is a software architect based in Santa Cruz, CA, with a downtown Olympia office - he travels to CA about once every 3 weeks, otherwise is working from Olympia. We have chosen to make our home here in Olympia, and we really love it; we'd love to share it with others!

We have 6 cats. We also foster cats and kittens for a local rescue, so sometimes we have a fleet of felines.

We live on 1/2 acre in the Eastside neighborhood in Olympia. We can offer ample street and patio parking for RVs/cars, as well as a guest room with two twin beds, and a twin air mattress if needed, in the house.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

We've enjoyed our experience on Couchsurfing thus far. Our favorite part has been meeting new people and having an exchange.

Last-minute stays can work, but don't always work for us. You are welcome to request, and we'll write you back and let you know if we can host or not - we are pretty quick to respond. A little advance planning works best for us.

***Please note:***
We are looking for people who want to interact a bit, be it share a meal together or chat over a cup of coffee. We are not looking for folks who just need someplace, any place, to crash for the night.

Interests

  • gardening
  • reading
  • volunteering
  • social justice
  • sewing
  • kids
  • community
  • community service

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Become a parent. Seriously, it's a lot of work :) .

Teach, Learn, Share

We love our town, love our life, and love to share! We can offer good conversation and hospitality.

Countries I’ve Visited

Canada, Mexico

Countries I’ve Lived In

United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Whitney’s full profile.