Chris Holden's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login almost 2 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Chris’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 19 References 16 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Spanish
  • 39, Male
  • Member since 2011
  • Work-allergic UK doctor, seeking adventures!
  • Formally by my teachers, but mostly through experiences, ...
  • From UK
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Riding motorbikes around South America, starting in Argentina in Feb 2016

ABOUT ME

Work shy UK doctor in search of adventures with a sense of purpose. Adventuring can be trying something new, meeting a new bunch if people, or the more typical outdoor sport stuff.

Keen sense of politics and social justice but happy not taking about it.

I remain convinced of peoples inherent generosity.

PHILOSOPHY

I'm working on this bit. Just trying to travel about the place with my eyes open, getting to know the place, its people, myself.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Keen to surf and meet people. Haven't been able to host since I left Bangkok, as my landlords haven't allowed it - which is a shame - nothing but good experiences before that.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Well, nothing but good experiences so far. I've been hosted in Norway, Russia, and Mongolia. I've hosted some nice and interesting folks at my place in Bangkok (which sadly, I've now said goodbye to).

Interests

Adventures in the broadest sense. Outdoor stuff: skiing, climbing, caving, cycle touring. Travel. Environmentalism. Meeting quirky friendly folks.

  • politics
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • outdoor activities
  • cycling
  • spelunking
  • scuba diving
  • skiing
  • sports
  • rock climbing
  • medicine

Music, Movies, and Books

Generally alternative stuff I guess.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Diving alone at night the vast inky blackness. Truly humbling.

visited 31 states (13.7%)Create your own visited map of The World

Teach, Learn, Share

I teach Industrial Rope Acess (basically climbing in grotty industrial places) and medicine-related stuff from time to time. I can also chat about and do: diving, rock climbing, caving, bicycle maintenance.

Countries I’ve Visited

Antarctica, Australia, Austria, Canada, China, Denmark, France, Germany, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Kenya, Laos, Lesotho, Malawi, Malaysia, Mongolia, Mozambique, Myanmar, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Papua New Guinea, Peru, Russian Federation, South Africa, Spain, Switzerland, Thailand, United Kingdom, United States, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, Egypt, Kenya, Thailand, United Kingdom

Old School Badges

  • Pioneer 9e5c6d07410be6ad972e78858727f5a200c4ebab1f9bb897eb4d7cbee90959a8
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Chris’s full profile. It’s free!