Logo orange

William Ryall

Melbourne, Victoria, Australia

Not Accepting Guests

Last login 29 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see William's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 2 Positive References
  • Fluent in English; learning Lao, Sign Language - BSL, AUSLAN, NZS, Spanish, Thai
  • 27, Male
  • Member since 2012
  • I own my own Internet Marketing busi...
  • High School + Two Years Of An Econom...
  • From Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To see as much of the world as I can whilst I'm still young

ABOUT ME

Most people would say that it usually takes me an hr or two (or a couple of drinks) to really come out of my shell - when I do I'm quite humorous and easy going.

PHILOSOPHY

I want to leave this world a better place than it was when I was born. I'm a big believer that ignorance is the true cause of many of the issues we have in this world and by having as many unique experiences and interacting with different cultures I'll be able to avoid this for not only my own future - but also of my children.

I always try to leave people and places better and happier than when I arrived, whether it be something small like buying somebody some water at a bus stop or giving kids a picture book to read.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

At the moment I'm unable to host - but will be able to do so when I'm back in Melbourne in December! Whenever I stay at a hosts house I always try to show them something I've learnt whilst travelling - for example cooking them a nice thai meal, giving an authentic northern thai massage (very different from the more commonly known southern thai style) or helping them study english!

I love to cook and share my experiences and knowledge from Australia as well.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Most of my couch surfing experience has been with staying with friends that I've met during my south east Asia travels - some of them have also come and stayed with me in Melbourne. I'm hoping to meet and host more often once I get back to Australia

Interests

I'm currently obsessed with seeing the world and experiencing new cultures and ways of life that are outside of my norm. I love scuba diving and plan on finishing my dive masters sometime next year.

When I'm in between countries you can most likely find me somewhere reading a classic book or planning my next adventure!

Music, Movies & Books

Books - Ender's game, count of monte cristo, dune, 1984, brave new world, animal farm and slaughterhouse five (although I could list these all day long - I love reading during travel time)

Music - mostly indie and indie electro stuff - at the moment I'm really into the following artists: Grimes, yeasayer, bombay bicycle club, washed out, the shins and sigur ros. I also love the older classics like the beatles, oasis and the verve.

Movies - Favorite movie of all time has to be shawshank redemption, followed closely by the original 12 angry men. I'm really not that picky when it comes to movies - I'm more than happy to watch some rom com trash every now and then!

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Scuba diving with an adolescent whale shark in Koh Tao Thailand. Whale sharks are the biggest fish in the ocean and it was an amazing experience to share the ocean with this creature.

Climbing Adam's Peak in Sri Lanka. The weather had been terrible for months before we arrived and we were told that we'd be able to climb it but it was likely not worth it - after getting off to a late start and missing sunrise it was a breath taking view in a beautiful developing country.

Catching a Cayman with my barehands in the Brazilian Amazon had my heart pumping the whole time.

Trying to get over my far of heights by running off a cliff and hang gliding over Rio.

Teach, Learn, Share

I like to think I'm a fairly decent cook, my favorite dishes are the following:

Meat pie (basically minced meat with a gravy sauce surrounded by pastry. An Australia favorite)
Salmon salad - salad with delicious salmon, olives, egg, lettuce, tomato and red onion

I'm also certified by the Thai king in traditional northern thai massage and I'm always looking for people to practice on. I can also give people a quick tutorial on how to do it themselves! (For example a special technique which is good if you have problems with your bowel - very useful when travelling!)

I also know a fair bit to do with internet marketing and scuba diving.

I'm super interested in learning Spanish and improve on my basic thai and laos language skills!

I'm also pretty knowledgable about Australia, as I've helped a lot of International friends apply for working visas - if you want to come I can surely help you (I can also help you find a job when you arrive!)

Countries I've Visited

Australia, Czech Republic, Germany, Ireland, Laos, Netherlands, Spain, Sri Lanka, Thailand, United Kingdom, Uruguay, Viet Nam

Countries I've Lived In

Argentina, Australia

Join Couchsurfing to see William's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile