Willem Mathlener's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address Verified

Accepting Guests

  • 19% response rate
  • Last login 17 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Willem’s full profile.


  • 33 references 28 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Afrikaans, English, Norwegian; learning Dutch, German, Italian
  • 39, Male
  • Member since 2010
  • Musician
  • Some Bacholar degrees
  • From Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


Making some quality recordings in my studio


Hi, I like all music things, concerts gigs recordings or simply sitting at home playing violin. I work hard but know how to be a pro at laziness. Traveling and meeting ace folk is a must - I've been to many Southern African countries doing music outreach by age 10 and been to Europe many times during my teens. I used to live in Glasgow and had wonderful time xperiences hosting many guests as you can see on my reviews. Oh, and I love cooking! In my experience couch surfers are not the wealthiest of people and Norway being super expensive I know how to make food and do things or get around on a budget, so I can help with that!


Everyone to his or her own, unbiased towards sex gender or religion. I'm part of the Humanist Society Scotland which is a secular group of people.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I have many friends around the world whom I enjoy visiting a couple of days at a time. Normally I do some cooking and get them to show me the city sights - often people living in great places never see their touristy things!


Science books, making music (including eastern and traditional besides being classically trained), visual Art, watching amazing YouTube videos or anyone doing something really well, contemporary European history, making professional recordings, networking, swimming, sitting half asleep listening to beautiful music, skiing in the Alps, performing publicly, exploring cities, cosmology, cooking (specially Indian Pakistani and South East Asian food), hiking, predicate logic, thinking, chatting about 'life the universe and everything!', but really just having a good time in general and not getting too serious about things!

  • arts
  • books
  • concerts
  • dining
  • cooking
  • traveling
  • music
  • violin
  • hiking
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • history
  • logic
  • religion
  • science

Countries I’ve Visited

Andorra, Austria, Bahrain, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Botswana, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Kenya, Kosovo, Lesotho, Luxembourg, Montenegro, Mozambique, Namibia, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Serbia, Slovakia, South Africa, Spain, Swaziland, Sweden, Thailand, Ukraine, United Kingdom, Zimbabwe

Countries I’ve Lived In

Norway, South Africa, United Kingdom

Old School Badges

  • Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Willem’s full profile.