Accepting Guests

  • Last login 7 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Douglas’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 25 References 19 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning German, Sign Language - American, Spanish
  • 48, Male
  • Member since 2011
  • Photographer and eternal student.
  • Nine years of college.
  • From I was raised in a small town in north central Pennsylvania but my family lived around the world.
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

I live off-gird in a 300 sq ft cabin / tiny home on 150 acres.

ABOUT ME

I am half Scottish & half German, but all American. Most of my family was born and/or raised around the world. I wear traditional Scottish kilts & Utilikilts. I rock climb, scuba dive, day hike, camp in the woods with a tent, garden and ghost hunt. I love to travel (historical places/landmarks, other countries, haunted places, stone circles, battlefields, castles, churches) and I consider myself to be a naturalist. My favorite color is blue.

PHILOSOPHY

If you don't like it, don't look.

Why be normal?

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I mostly host but I do travel often and when going somewhere that I don't already have a standard host, friend or family member, then I will surf. If time allows I will play the role of a tour guide for a day or two.

I prefer to host couples and small groups so that I can't be accused of doing something inappropriate or situations misunderstood (see negative review). Plus it tends to be more enjoyable.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I have been letting people stay on my couch, floors and beds for over twenty years. And, I, an avid traveler, have been staying on people's couches, floors and beds (by myself, without family) since I was in seventh grade. I prefer the experience of staying with a host versus staying in a hotel. I've traveled most of the USA and parts of Germany and Scotland.

Interests

I do 3D Multimedia art, Body/Life Casting and Fine Art Nude Photography.

I used to be an avid rock climber (4 days a week). I like to scuba dive, garden, hike, camp (mostly wilderness), ghost hunting, and exploring or doing photo shoots in abandoned places or ruins. I also enjoy playing board games and cards.

I live off-grid, so subjects related to sustainable or "green" is of interest. I also enjoy talking about various religions, health related issues, history, art, eating healthy, gardening and growing your own food plus many other subjects.

  • pets
  • arts
  • photography
  • coloring
  • dining
  • cooking
  • gardening
  • board games
  • traveling
  • hiking
  • camping
  • hunting
  • scuba diving
  • history
  • religion
  • tourism

Music, Movies, and Books

Movies: Enchanted April ... œ My House In Umbria ... Das Boot ...€œ Shortbus ...€œ The Fifth Element ...€œ Fight Club ...€œ Priest ...€œ Stigmata ...€œ The Order ...œ Four Weddings and a Funeral

Music: I love ALL kinds of music (except most rap or hiphop) but especially the Acoustic Guitar, Piano, Didgeridoo, Talking Drums, and Celtic Rock. My favorite music is very eclectic and depends upon my mood and other conditions.

Books: Anything by Piers Anthony, Anything by Joshua Palmatier
I read mostly magazines, here are my favorite: Mental Floss, Ode, Mother Earth News, Outside, Discover, and Scientific American

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I sat at the top of the Austrian Alps during a full lunar eclipse.

I saved the lives of three children on July 3rd, 1997.

Teach, Learn, Share

I come from a line of teachers and although I am not one, I love to teach or share my knowledge with others as well as love to learn from others. My family has lived around the world, so I tend to be biased only on the behaviors of people, not the color of their skin or where they have lived. I just love to experience new things, people and places. I have made so much money that I had no debt but I have also been homeless with no job, it's all part of the life that I choose to live.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I can share with hosts, basically the same as what I can share with guests ... mainly my life experiences, my travel stories and my experience about living off-grid. I can talk/discuss about many and varied subjects or be left alone. I can also cook or help with a building project, on the farm, in the garden or with children/pets.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Canada, Denmark, France, Germany, Luxembourg, Mexico, Netherlands, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see Douglas’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups