K(ay)'s Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login 15 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see K(ay)’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 7 References 6 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Chinese, Esperanto, French, Georgian, German, Spanish
  • 27, Other
  • Member since 2012
  • No occupation listed
  • BS - Environmental Science
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I'm easy to get along with and adaptable and resourceful. Generally tactless and can be brutally honest, but I'm well practiced in the art of holding my tongue.

Labels I relate to: vegan, straight-edge, queer, demisexual, trans: neutrois/agender, cycling enthusiast, relationship anarchist (ie: solo poly). Male pronouns preferred. Neutral also acceptable. But I'm not going to police you about it.

I neither drink nor smoke. Drinking gives me headaches and smoking is just horrible, haha.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

It's a unique opportunity to connect with people you might otherwise never meet.

Interests

Nothing makes me happier than bombing down a well-paved hill or mountainside on my bicycle. That said, I will ride most things on two wheels, and I love being outdoors, but especially in the water or overlooking the ocean. I have an appreciation for mountains as well, especially if there are lakes or rivers, but much more so if they're covered in snow. Animals have always fascinated me, but I've started taking an interest in plants as well.

Indoors, I enjoy the challenge of learning new languages and figuring out how to do things (knitting/crochet, tinkering on vehicles, building things in general). I'm pretty good with bicycles, though I used to be better.
Being a vegan, I've also gotten pretty good at baking and cooking and I try to be as inclusive as possible when cooking for others. I'm also happy to play any board game with a good group of people; I might forget the rules after every time I play, but I learn them just as quickly.

  • diy
  • vegan
  • motorcycles
  • board games
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • backpacking
  • camping
  • snowboarding
  • rock climbing
  • languages
  • mountain biking
  • bikepacking
  • road cycling
  • swimming in the sea

Music, Movies, and Books

Books: Greg Iles, Helen Oyeyemi, The Rule of Four by Ian Caldwell and Dustin Thomason, The Kin of Ata Are Waiting for You by Dorothy Bryant.

Movies: V for Vendetta, Colonia, The Illusionist, The Constant Gardener, I Am Sam, Milk, Sophie Scholl -- Die letzten Tage, American History X, Seven Pounds, Memento, etc.

Music: I generally dislike wind instruments (including vocals)... but my tastes range from angry viking metal to mostly orchestral soundtracks, from techno and dubstep to rap and country.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

- drove a solar car
- felt the wing-beat of a golden eagle
- rode my bicycle from Colorado to Minnesota (nine days!)

Teach, Learn, Share

My knowledge base is broad, not deep. I'd like to learn everything, and I'm willing to try and teach anything I know, even if I don't know it all that well.

Teach: English, Chinese (maybe?), knitting/crocheting, swimming, bicycle related things, and vegan cooking and baking.

Learn: any language, parkour/free-running, scuba-diving, basically anything you're willing to teach me!

What I Can Share with Hosts

I'm pretty good at cooking and baking vegan - could probably do gluten-free too if I'm told in advance! I'm also happy to fix bicycles, assist with housework, lend a hand in wrenching on projects you're working on, and, of course, regale you with stories of my travels. If you have any cuddly-ish pets (eg: cats, dogs, birds, snakes, etc), I'd be more than happy to help you care for them.

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Canada, China, Georgia, Germany, Netherlands, New Zealand, Romania, Taiwan, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Georgia, New Zealand, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see K(ay)’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups