Carl Gregory's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 1 year ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Carl’s full profile.


  • 45 references 38 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Spanish
  • 62, Male
  • Member since 2008
  • software trainer
  • Bachelor of Arts
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I'm very easy going and quiet. I really enjoy nature, foreign films, good beer, and good conversation. I've traveled quite a bit for work and love taking side trips to explore the country I'm in. I travel for fun as well and enjoy learning about the history and the people of wherever I am.


Learn from everyone. I try to stay open minded and listen more than I talk. I really enjoy learning from others and seeing their perspective.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I really enjoy seeing places through the eyes of someone else. I've stayed with wonderful people who have shown me parts of their city that I would never have seen otherwise. I really love doing that for people who stay with me.

I host nice people on WEEKENDS as often as I can and try really hard to make them feel comfortable. I'll show you around if I have time. There are some wonderful places that very few tourists see that I can take you to.

Please **read my Couch Description** (botton left - scroll down) if you want me to host you.

I am happy to show you around the Washington D.C. area for cultural activities (tons of free stuff to do downtown) or to see all the wonderful parks in the area. I may even go to the air and space museum with you (having lived here my whole life, I've seen it many times). It's fun to see how other people experience Washington and I just enjoy spending time with nice people.

To help people plan their trip, I created a list of places to go and things to do.


I have hosted a number of people from different countries and I have surfed a little bit too. So far, I've had mostly good experiences and plan on having more!


I have a wide variety of interests that seems to change by the day. I'm curious and love learning about what others have to offer. When I travel someplace, I love to learn the history - tour guides either love me or hate me for that because I keep asking questions.

  • beauty
  • beer
  • movies
  • traveling
  • teaching
  • history
  • tourism
  • parks

Music, Movies, and Books

I especially enjoy foreign films. The Smithsonian museums often have interesting films from all over the world.

Although I never learned to play an instrument, I really have grown to enjoy classical music. As much as I love Mozart, Beethoven, and all the other famous composers, my favorite is Dvorak's new world Symphony. I always feel uplifted after listening to that. Most of the time, I listen to National Public Radio (you can check it out over the internet -

I read all sorts of books in no particular pattern. It's sort of the see food diet (see it and eat it) applied to books - it looks interesting, so I read it.

Teach, Learn, Share

I'm happy to help someone learn English. I've volunteered as an ESL teacher before. I'd love to share the beauty of the D.C. area and Virginia with someone who likes to explore. In addition to the usual tourist places, I can show you some of my personal favorites.

I'm open to learning whatever someone has to share.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I can help you with English.

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Austria, Belize, Bermuda, Brazil, Bulgaria, Cabo Verde, Canada, Chad, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Czech Republic, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, Eritrea, Ethiopia, France, Germany, Ghana, Guatemala, India, Kuwait, Laos, Mexico, Nepal, Panama, Peru, Philippines, Slovakia, Thailand, Turkey, United Kingdom, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Guatemala, United States

Old School Badges

  • Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Carl’s full profile.

My Groups