Logo orange

Warren's Groups

Warren Garber

Fuengirola, Andalusia, Spain

Not Accepting Guests

Last login 9 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Warren's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 32 Positive References
  • Fluent in English; learning Khmer, Spanish
  • 60, Male
  • Member since 2008
  • Sales agent and technical advisor
  • Grammar School, College, University ...
  • From London, UK.
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Wish I could tell you - but the tape self-destructed before I could listen to it!

ABOUT ME

54 yrs old (young) - Hey, the 50's are the new 30's. My friends think I'm great company, my work colleagues reckon I'm intelligent, my mom thinks I'm handsome (well, at least that's what she says!).

I don't drink too much, nor take drugs. I get my 'buzz' out of every day living. I don't judge others though.

Can't seem to stay in one place too long these days - Currently living on Costa del Sol, Spain. Have also lived in Cheshire (UK), Chicago, Florida, Texas, Devon(UK). Been in Spain for two years.

Taking off on a Round World Trip, commencing August 2008. Route: S. America, Australasia, Indochina and India.
Spending 3 or 4 months of the trip volunteer working in Siem Reap, Cambodia.

My travel blog can be found here:
http://woz.typepad.com/

I'm quite well 'housetrained'. I live in a clean and tidy manner and respect other peoples homes. I do enjoy a cigarette - but always respect other's wishes if they don't. I wouldn't smoke indoors - I don't even smoke in my own apartment.
I don't mind doing my share of cleaning/ shopping / meal prep & washing up. I am capable of doing my own laundry and ironing.
That's not an invitation to have loads of either ready for me on arrival though ;-)

Have 3 kids - Girls of 24 and 21. A son of 15. They all live in the UK with their mum. We all have good contact and get on well.

PHILOSOPHY

I've got to a stage in life where I really do enjoy each day. I have no particular 'baggage'. I am comfortable with what I do and how I live.

I'm a firm believer of the saying 'If you remain flexible - you won't get bent out outa shape'

Youth is wasted on the young!

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I love to meet people and understand different cultures and lifestyles. That's my main joy of travelling. When I'm back in Europe next year - I'll be more than happy to reciprocate hospitality.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Not long joined this project - I have already hosted my first CS'r - it was everything and more I could have hoped for.
Had a fantastic time hosting a couple from Australia - who I'll be staying with later this year.

Interests

Travelling (naturally!), I enjoy reading, movies, sightseeing (but not necessarily tourist traps), photography. I enjoy all forms of music - especially live gigs. I'm currently learning to play the Saxophone. But don't worry, I won't be bringing it along!

Music, Movies & Books

Any decent thriller - movies and books, that is.

Favourite authors: Leon Uris, G.F Newman, Nelson DeMille, Bill Bryson, Michael Connelly.

Music - anything from the years of 'The Doors' to 'Coldplay'

Have a real soft spot for Chicago Blues, though.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Too many great things in my lifetime to list here.

Being at the birth of my first child takes some beating though - even if I only got in the way of things!

Teach, Learn, Share

Teach: We are all teachers! I can maybe help with English - I have a TEFL/TESOL certificate. I am quite good with computers and can maybe help my hosts with problems.

Learn: We are all learners! I still have so much to learn from others - how different cultures live their lives. I am also still trying to understand the 'Circle of 5ths' in Music Theory - if anyone can help!

Share: We are all sharers! I can share many funny (but true) travel / work / life experiences - maybe while sharing time with a beer or a coffee in hand.

Countries I've Visited

Argentina, Australia, Belgium, Bolivia, Brazil, Cambodia, Chile, China, France, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Malaysia, Netherlands, New Zealand, Paraguay, Peru, Singapore, Switzerland, Thailand, Viet Nam

Countries I've Lived In

Cambodia, Spain, United Kingdom, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Warren's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile