Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 3 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Catherine’s full profile. It’s free!


  • 47 References 24 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Arabic (Gulf), Chinese, German, Hungarian
  • 33, Female
  • Member since 2005
  • law school
  • law school
  • From Columbus, Ohio, USA
  • Profile 60% complete

About Me


Survive law school


I'm a bit of a chronic vagabond but I fell in love with Oman, so I've settled here for the time being. (This has been superseded since I started law school in NYC, but I'm not quite ready to admit it yet.)

I thrive on exploring new environments, learning new languages, and being outdoors, especially near mountains or water. I like hiking, climbing, scrambling, roaming, roadtripping, being in places where i can breathe and doing things that make my heart pound sincerely. I dislike frivolous small talk and have little talent for it. I'm an excellent navigator and a terrible storyteller. As a guest/traveler, I'm very independent and don't need to be "hosted" full-time, though I absolutely hope to get to know my hosts and guests on a level beyond superficial.


Be good.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I've been surfing couches since 2006 and am now trying to host as much as possible since I've settled down for a while. Please don't hesitate to ask if you're coming to Muscat.


Coffee, photography, linguistics, culture, chess, hiking, biking, exploring; I most enjoy setting off into the unknown with no plans or security blankets of any sort. I will try almost anything once.

  • culture
  • photography
  • coffee
  • chess
  • outdoor activities
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • surfing
  • rock climbing
  • languages
  • law
  • mountains

Music, Movies, and Books

Avid reader and viewer of anything not made in Hollywood.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

The mountains and the sky

Teach, Learn, Share

I prefer learning to teaching - but if there's something I can teach you we'll probably find out what that is when we meet.

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Austria, Bahrain, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Cambodia, Canada, China, Costa Rica, Egypt, Estonia, France, Germany, Greece, India, Indonesia, Italy, Kazakhstan, Kosovo, Kuwait, Latvia, Lebanon, Lithuania, Macedonia, Mexico, Montenegro, Morocco, Norway, Poland, Qatar, Romania, Serbia, Slovakia, South Korea, Spain, Syrian Arab Republic, Tanzania, Thailand, Turkey, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, Yemen

Countries I’ve Lived In

Czech Republic, Hungary, Oman, United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    12 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Catherine’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups