Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 12 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Xin’s full profile. It’s free!


  • 42 References 13 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Chinese, Dutch; learning English, Korean, Yue (Cantonese)
  • 33, Male
  • Member since 2008
  • Student and traveler
  • M. Sc.
  • From Leiden, Holland
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


Studying, traveling, enjoying and laughing!!


This is a really tough one...
I'm an open-minded guy, love to laugh with people, having fun. But also love to meet new people, and to share our experiences.


My personal philosophy? "the intellect is associated with waters; the benevolence is associated with mountains." (智(zhi)者(zhe)乐(yue)水(shui),仁(ren)者(zhe)乐(yue)山(shan).) - Confucius.
In other words: your hobby, your interests form a good mirror image of your personality!
And be good for the world, the world will be good for you too!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


My major CS-philosophy is "giving-and-taking", meaning that I am more than happy to contribute to the CS community, not only in hosting but also giving people rides, helping people out by providing useful information, and while doing this, I hope other people are also able to do this for me, of course, I'm not demanding that. I also go to regular CS meet-ups, events, Couch Crashes etc. I love to meet new people and make new friends :)!


My very first CS experience is when I met my first host in DC. I was SOOOOO surprised how friendly, trustworthy, helpful a STRANGER could be! So, that was amazing!
Slowly I got used to the 'magic' of CS, that there is no barrier between you and a fellow CSer: once you meet, you're friends immediately. It is not like: Wait, I don't know you, why are you talking to me??? Especially when hosting surfers, I always treat them like I know them much longer than just now... Such a great system, CouchSurfing.Com!!!

create your own personalized map of the USA
or write about it on the open travel guide


Traveling: seeing other cultures, meeting with the locals, CSers, get to know about the local habitats, traditions etc. I love of being immersed into local cultures...
Sports: I love cycling (both mountain bike and road bike), hiking (mountains, national parks), scuba diving (corals, sea life), etc, etc, etc...

  • arts
  • singing
  • photography
  • dining
  • cooking
  • wine
  • traveling
  • painting
  • drawing
  • magic
  • music
  • country music
  • cycling
  • equestrian
  • hiking
  • scuba diving
  • snorkeling
  • sports
  • calligraphy
  • languages
  • tourism
  • parks
  • mountains

Music, Movies, and Books

Music: any kind of music. But mostly only a very specific kind of music will make me happy...
Movie: action, comedy, and sometimes war movies.
Books: no, no books, please.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Horseback riding while listen to the local country music in Mongolia. It was so impressive, that when I listen to the same music and close my eyes now, I'm there again...
I also stayed with the locals in their gers, share the food with them, sing together with them.
Snorkeling in the Red Sea, seeing the corals in Sudan..., truly amazing!!!

Teach, Learn, Share

First of all I can teach you the languages I manage. (For Chinese: please learn the phrase I put above.) And I wanna learn Korean and Japanese. But also would love to learn some Spanish too.
Skills: I can teach you how to make a very easy, quick pasta meal, in about 10 min., but still tasty! :P
I can teach some basic knowledge of photography. I'm currently learning as well and I'm going to purchase a SLR camera.
I can share some Chinese calligraphy art, how to look at them, and what style is used etc. But I'm definitely not skilled enough to teach people yet.
I can share a lot of my travel experiences, personal opinions of life etc.
Things that I wanna learn: drawing/painting, wine knowledge, cooking, etc., many others!

Countries I’ve Visited

China, Egypt, Hungary, Jordan, Mongolia, Portugal, Russian Federation, Sudan, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

China, United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    7 Vouches
  • Pioneer 9e5c6d07410be6ad972e78858727f5a200c4ebab1f9bb897eb4d7cbee90959a8
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Xin’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups