Lisa Horner's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Accepting Guests

  • Last login almost 4 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Lisa’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 2 References 2 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Russian
  • 32, Female
  • Member since 2010
  • Study abroad - program development & coordination
  • Liberal Arts / Russian major
  • From Bismarck, ND
  • Profile 90% complete

About Me

ABOUT ME

I was born into a middle class Midwestern family, the middle child who was good at a lot of things, bad at more things, and great at nothing. I enjoy most things.
I went to a small liberal arts college in Portland, OR, and began studying Russian language and literature out of curiosity for a place that seemed so far away, and so closed to me.
After graduating I worked in Russia for two years.
I recently moved back to the States, and I'm rediscovering the joys and peculiarities of living in the Midwest.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

When I signed up I doubted anyone would contact me to surf as there were so many people in Minneapolis, but to my surprise I've gotten some requests.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

So far all my experiences with couchsurfing have been overwhelmingly positive. The first time I hosted it was an ideal first couch-surfing experience: we got along fabulously, and it was awesome to have company while exploring my city. The first time I surfed someone else's couch was also a great experience: we had things in common, and it was a fun time.

Interests

Riding bike, running, badminton, rock-climbing - I'll try almost anything active. "Would you rather" questions (for example, run 30 miles or fall 13 feet? - these questions are usually violent:)), Slavic culture, cold and windy places.

  • arts
  • culture
  • literature
  • running
  • cycling
  • surfing
  • rock climbing
  • badminton

Music, Movies, and Books

Favorite authors: Raymond Carver, Mailie Meloy, Margaret Atwood, David Sedaris.
Music: Devendra Banhart, Portishead, the Dagons, Sexy Sushi, Waldeck, Blonde Redhead, Charlie Deets, Devotchka, Spineshank, Mudvayne, Deftones.
Movies: Black Cat White Cat, Of Freaks and Men, Igby Goes Down, Defendor, Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, Bagdad Cafe. I watch Con Air or Waterworld when I'm in the mood for helpless laughter.

Countries I’ve Visited

Canada, Czech Republic, Estonia, Finland, Georgia, Germany, Hungary, Kyrgyzstan, Russian Federation, Ukraine, Uzbekistan

Countries I’ve Lived In

Russian Federation, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Lisa’s full profile. It’s free!