Jan Koeppen's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 8 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Jan’s full profile. It’s free!


  • 5 References 4 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, German, Portuguese, Spanish; learning Catalan, Valencian, Portuguese
  • 37, Male
  • Member since 2007
  • IT engineer in a company that works in international deve...
  • 33 years at university of life
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


Enjoy life, meet people, learn


I'd like to say about myself that i'm tolerant, easy to get along with and up for any kind of adventure. I work quite a lot, but whenever i have some time i try to spend it outdoors or visiting concerts.

I'm interested in meeting people from around the world and learn about cultural differences or their trips.


I don't spend too much time on planning, i love doing things spontaneously. The only things important throughout life are to respect other people, being (appropriately) honest and treat other people like you want to be treated.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I only hosted once and surfed once, too. Both experiences were great and i'm still in touch with my hosts/surfers.

I also think that the spirit of couch-surfing is great. Visiting another country by meeting locals is the best way to get to know a place really.


I surfed many couches before knowing cs.com. Living for a few days with other people and exchanging thoughts, cooking together etc is a fun thing and I'd prefer it anytime over a hostel.


I'm interested in other cultures, music, cooking and any kinds of sports like diving, biking, wind-surfing, football, volley and sailing.

  • concerts
  • dancing
  • cooking
  • boating
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • music
  • guitar
  • outdoor activities
  • cycling
  • backpacking
  • kite surfing
  • surfing
  • scuba diving
  • sailing
  • sports
  • soccer
  • road trips
  • longboarding
  • barbecue

Music, Movies, and Books

Mostly non-fiction, technology, books about trips, biographies. One of my favorites is Borneo and the indian archipelago (http://books.google.com.au/books/about/Borneo_and_the_Indian_Archipelago.html?id=aTENAAAAIAAJ)

I like acoustic, brazilian/portuguese and spanish music. One of my favorites is Bebe.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Studying abroad (2006/2007 Madrid, 2008/2009 Barcelona), living on a sailing boat for 1 month, diving, wind-surfing, snow boarding. Road-tripping through Oman last year, traveling to Bohol and Coron in the Philippines.

Teach, Learn, Share

Cook some german and spanish meals, play guitar, repair bikes, lots of programming, photoshop, some sailors' knots. And making pencakes

Countries I’ve Visited

Andorra, Argentina, Austria, Belgium, Bolivia, Brazil, Czech Republic, Denmark, England, France, Germany, Hungary, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Netherlands, Northern Ireland, Norway, Oman, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Uruguay

Countries I’ve Lived In

Bolivia, Germany, Spain, Sweden

Join Couchsurfing to see Jan’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups