Yi-Ming Ma's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 1 year ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Yi-Ming’s full profile. It’s free!


  • 11 References 5 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Chinese, English; learning Portuguese, Spanish
  • 24, Male
  • Member since 2013
  • Sustainability and environmental consulting
  • University educated
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


To travel the world and be enriched by stories, laughter and experiences. It may sound very cliche but I believe in listening to others as a means of gaining knowledge. By hearing the stories of others, I have the opportunity to formulate my own opinion and have a more in-depth and worldly view. Let's teach, listen and talk to each other about everything there is to know!


Hello there!

My name is Yi-Ming, but you can call me Yi!

I'm 22 and I live in Melbourne, Australia. I'm currently studying a double degree of Commerce and Science, majoring in sustainability, environmental law and ecology. I think the planet is unique, as there is only one of it, which I would like my grandchildren to enjoy. I think of myself as an extrovert, I love the outdoors and am more than happy to do hikes whenever I'm travelling. I wasn't originally into the whole mountaineering, but after climbing some mountains in Patagonia the idea of pushing myself to the limit became addictive. I'm certainly outgoing, always wanting to visit a new bar, see a new band or DJ and just meet new people, yet I am more than happy to curl up with a good book! Beer is the one drink I'll never get sick of, always ready to try a new one! The concept of networking is very important to me, as I have seen how small the world can be and how friendships made thousands of miles away can be kept.

I visited Brazil 2 years ago, to work with disadvantaged children in the city of Salvador, in Bahia. From there I met many people whom I formed friendships with that I intended on keeping. So, now as part of my round the world travel, I have been making my way to cities to visit them. Some for days, some for only a few hours. Yet, from those memories in Brazil came friendships that have been renewed and continued for hopefully many years to come.

I'm currently travelling with a travel diary a friend made for me. While I stopped writing in it, I now offer the diary to anyone with whom I spend some time with. What you write is up to you, but it could range from a summary of a day spent together through my eyes or yours, to tips on where to eat and visit! Feel free to write in it!

I dream of starting my own microfinance company in areas in need of empowerment and help communities realise their own potential

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


By using my free time to travel the world and see/experience it's many different people, locations and cultures.

I've recently completed a trip around part of the world on an 8 month trip that took me through the Americas, Europe, North Africa and Asia! The experiences I have had with people of all walks of life are amazing and have shaped and coloured my way of thinking and my approach.
I've said yes to everything from snorkelling in the Galapagos to jumping off a 15 metre bridge into crystal blue water to jumping off a 100 metre bridge held together at my ankles by a rope!


I've stayed with some couchsurfers, and I have a few friends who have hosted. As I live away from home and am currently studying, hosting has been difficult but I endeavour to host one day! I have had friends that I have made from travelling, not necessarily couch surfers, but people who I have met while on the road that have stayed over. They say I make a mean breakfast!

I'm now planning a trip to Tasmania and I want to give back to Couchsurfing by offering to drive people over there!


Football: Or soccer as some would say is my passion. I watch all the games, which in Australia is no easy feat as the timing is usually anywhere from 12am to 730am! The mighty Chelsea FC is my team!
Music: I have DJ'd for over 5 years back home in Australia, and while I can't search for the newest tunes anymore, my experience in the Americas has exposed me to different styles and variations of music which I have come to love. Romeo Santos and Enrique Iglesias anyone?
Dancing: I'm no good, but I will do the robot and the sprinkler until the cows come home.
Reading: Books, newspapers, articles, anything to absorb more information!
Talking: Usually goes hand in hand with music, dancing and drinking! It's very important to listen to what others have to say.

  • wildlife
  • fish
  • writing
  • books
  • dancing
  • cooking
  • breakfast
  • beer
  • running
  • drinking
  • reading
  • traveling
  • music
  • outdoor activities
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • mountaineering
  • sailing
  • rock climbing
  • soccer
  • ecology
  • law
  • science
  • mountains

Music, Movies, and Books

Open to many genres. I am a fan of indie rock, electronica, techno and new music that pushes boundaries.

I am always keen on hearing new live acts and DJs and attending festivals is a big drawcard for me!

I love to read, anything and everything! Beyond that, I find what I learn from books I use in conversation.

Movies: I (sadly) love a movie that is cheesy, or has one liners that are predictable! Fast and the Furious 7 did hit me right in the feels… apart from that haven't seen many recently due to being on the road. Favourites are definitely British produced movies.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

This trip, in its entirety is an amazing adventure that has taken me from the freezing snow-capped mountains of Patagonia in Argentina to the crystal blue waters and diverse wildlife in the Galapagos Islands. Climbing mountains, snorkelling with fish, jumping off bridges, getting seasick on sailing boats, eating everything and anything. You name it, I've tried to do it, or am going to do it!

Teach, Learn, Share

I want to offer my experiences, and have you share yours in return. I am happy to learn and teach whatever we have to share. Let's have a conversation!

What I Can Share with Hosts

A decent pair of hands when it comes to cooking, cleaning, or doing any handiwork. A hiking or running partner. Decent humour? An Australian accent? Let's find out what we can share!

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Belize, Bolivia, Brazil, Canada, Chile, China, Colombia, Costa Rica, Czech Republic, Denmark, Ecuador, El Salvador, England, France, Germany, Guatemala, Honduras, Ireland, Italy, Mexico, Morocco, Netherlands, Nicaragua, Northern Ireland, Norway, Panama, Peru, Poland, Portugal, Spain, Switzerland, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, Brazil

Join Couchsurfing to see Yi-Ming’s full profile. It’s free!