Yolanda McKindlay's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 2 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Yolanda’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 4 References 1 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Danish
  • 39, Female
  • Member since 2013
  • Assistant manager in family native nursery
  • Tertiary studies
  • From Echuca/Moama
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Hi there couch surfers! Currently planning a trip over to England, Denmark and Helsinki on my own and would love to travel around with others like myself.

ABOUT ME

Where to start...I'm a single parent who is open to almost anything and loves to travel, learn and meet open minded people. I have many interests including Art, music,dancing,gardening and the out doors. Currently I work full time on a farm and native plant nursery beside the Murray River with my son and a couple of pets. During my spare time I do Zumba dancing and gardening. This year I've decided to travel on my own while I have the opportunity. Hopefully to full fill a love of travel, current friendships in England and Denmark and make new friends.

PHILOSOPHY

Oooh....I have a lot of interests. I love Antiques, art, books, markets, vintage clothing and wares, pottery. List could go on forever. Lea Stein is a favourite jewellery designer, my favourite quote is "The road less travelled on", I am a vegetarian and enjoy an old classic drink of Gin and Tonic with a piece of lemon and ice. I also enjoy a good wine. Music is varied a great deal and love the 80's, Italian, French, blues, jazz, alternative and some hip pop. Frank Sinatra and Cyndi Lauper are a long time favourite just to name a few music artists.

Plants of interest are Venus fly traps, succulents, sedims, air plants and Australian native plants.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

It would be wonderful to meet people with similar interest, to communicate before and while I'm travelling in England and Denmark. I also would like to help others out who stay in Echuca/Moama whether it be accommodation or transport to and from nearby areas.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

This is the first time I've known about it through a wonderful friend who lives in London and so I haven't experienced actual couchsurfing but hope to while travelling.

Interests

Mmm about 15 years ago I travelled overseas as an exchange student was called (IAEA)and while I was over there I travelled to several countries in Europe and stayed at friends places while I was over there and shared transportation with some friends in Denmark. I loved itl

  • pets
  • arts
  • books
  • design
  • dancing
  • dining
  • wine
  • vegetarian
  • zumba
  • drinking
  • flying
  • gardening
  • clothing
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • pottery
  • music
  • jazz
  • blues
  • track and field

Music, Movies, and Books

I love a good movie, though I do prefer international movies, especially English, Danish, German, Italian and French. I have seen "The Illusionist" and loved it(came out last year 2012), an old favourite movie is "Cammomile Lawn" based on a novel by Mary Wesley, a favourite English author. I love any book that after the first page I can't put it down. Some books I've read and enjoyed are "BEL Ami", "Good Living Street- the fortunes of my viennese family","The search", "Lavender and Linen", "David Golder", "Unpolished Gem", "Even silence has an end" and all of Mary Wesley's books.
Music is fairly open, though my taste tends to lead to alternative and less main stream music. I love the 20's, 40's, 60's, 70's and 80's as well as international,European, blues, jazz, classical, even opera,musicals, cabaret, folk and some hip pop. I love music by Gosling (an Australian singer), Glen Hansard, Bush Gothic and Berti Blackman..just to name a few who I have been listening to lately.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

That's a hard one as I could name several things off the top of my list.
It would have to be my previous travel experience back in 1998. I absolutely loved it and was blown away by what we are offered into this amazing sometimes cruel, joyful, sad and lonely world! I had experienced one in a life time of travel around Europe, Scandinava and England back than...making friends, tasting new food, speaking another language,...One thing I always remember when listening to the sound track "Broadway" is riding around Denmark, especially in the evening after dance or language class to where I was staying.

Teach, Learn, Share

Creative, alternative & spiritual people who have similar interests and tastes. People who avoid mainstream life style.

Countries I’ve Visited

Denmark, Finland

Countries I’ve Lived In

Denmark

Join Couchsurfing to see Yolanda’s full profile. It’s free!