Logo orange

Yongjian Si

Stanford, CA, United States

Not Accepting Guests

Last login 2 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Yongjian's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 25 Positive References
  • Fluent in Chinese, English, Spanish; learning French, Hindi, Italian
  • 23, Male
  • Member since 2012
  • Student
  • Stanford Unviersity
  • From Jinan, China and San Diego, California
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Being compassionate, curious, and cherishing every moment that life has chosen to bless me with

ABOUT ME

Hi there! My name is Yongjian and I'm a student at Stanford University. As a child, I was fortunate enough to to live in three different countries: China, Japan, and the United States. My experiences growing up in three different countries made me appreciate the amount of diversity in the world. I am absolutely fascinated by all the amazing things that different cultures and people have to offer and I'm always open to learning more about them. I am always excited to find new adventures and experiences in life.

PHILOSOPHY

To cherish every moment that life has chosen to bless me with and seek to make positive changes in the world through hard work and compassion.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I discovered CouchSurfing from a college friend who loves traveling and adventures.

What initially attracted me to CouchSurfing is not simply the idea of staying with a stranger overnight. Instead, I am convinced that CouchSurfing offers so many things that traditional vacations do not provide, including the chance make genuine connections with people from different parts of the world, a chance to discover new cultures through the lenses of a local, and a venue share powerful stories and learn from each other.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Since I am a full time student and currently live in the dorms, it may be difficult to for me to host you for the night. However, if you happen to be in the area, I would be more than happy to give you a tour of my college campus!!! We could a meal together, grab coffee (I will treat you, of course!) and share stories. We could also go explore some secret spots my campus has to offer! Looking forward to meeting you!

Interests

Public Service
Learning new languages
Experiencing other cultures
Tea! (I'd love to share some with you!)
Cycling
Genuine heart to heart conversations about life
Going on long walks (especially after the rain!!!)
Small acts of kindness that make somebody's day
Spicy food!
International Cuisine
Playing the piano
Spanish/Latin American Culture

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Spending a month teaching English in a rural Chinese school.

Traveling for a month through Colombia, Guatemala, and Mexico and meeting amazing people who inspired me in many different ways

Leading a week long public service trip for 12 participants on immigration issues in the United States. During the memorable week, we visited nonprofit organizations, had conversations with politicians, worked with low income students, and learned a lot the immigration system in the US.

Traveling across China on 20 hour train without a seat!

Teach, Learn, Share

I am fluent in English and Mandarin and Chinese (both writing and speaking). I also speak Spanish decently. In addition, I know some Portuguese, French, Italian, and I'm currently learning Hindi. I'm a language enthusiast and would definitely give you my advice on language learning!

I can show you how to prepare some simple Chinese dishes, such as tea eggs, fried rice, and green onion pancakes :)

I would love to share many memorable (both sweet and sour) moments growing up in three different countries. In addition, I've traveled around China for quite a bit, and would love to share my travel tips and tales!

Countries I've Visited

Colombia, Mexico, Spain

Countries I've Lived In

China, Japan, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Yongjian's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile