Yoru Sung's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login about 1 month ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Yoru’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 4 References 3 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Japanese, Korean; learning Finnish
  • 30, Male
  • Member since 2012
  • Student
  • Sogang University
  • From Seoul, Seoul, Korea, Republic of
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

! Profile update in progress ¡
since June 11th, 2017

CURRENT MISSION

Master 2136 characters of Kanji 漢字

ABOUT ME

My name is Yoru from South Korea. Since traveling is my passion, I have travelled many countries mostly in European countries. I had lived in Finland for 3 years as a student. I would say it was a watershed period of my life in many ways. Of course mostly positive :)

I love traveling like a local, because touristic places does not impress me that much. ) I love to do what most tourists don't, ーsuch as going to supermarket, university and business area to see what kind of food they eat, what is fed in this country, how does commuting culture look like. These really have broadened my perspectives toward the life. And I appreciate those who helped me exploring the local places! (including my CS friends those who left this community. Partly because of induce of AirBnB I suppose.)

I consider myself to be a responsible and honest person. I do not know what kind of image you have about Korean people in general. However, I am often considered that I am not a typical type of Korean from my Korean friends living in Korea. Maybe because of that 3 years in Finland had changed me somehow.

PHILOSOPHY

" LIFE is about taking chances, about doing something everyone said you couldn’t do, it's about not caring what other people think, it's about learning to love what you have. "

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

My friend had told me about nice experience from Courchsurfing and strongly recommend me to sign in.

I love its concept, but feeling sad that it's not that active community anymore as it does in a few years ago. I am not sure this only applies in Asian countries.

Interests

- Learning new languages! (I think this is one of the best way to understand their culture)

- Healthy diet (as time goes by, the importance of healthy life becomes bigger and bigger)

- Cooking (I like when my friends are enjoying my food)

  • culture
  • cooking
  • traveling
  • languages
  • playing guitar

Music, Movies, and Books

I have an eclectic taste in music! From classical to death metal. There are enormous amount of good songs in world, thanks god.

Thesedays, I'm slightly more into listening to Japanese popular music that I got to know from local people in Japan.

Some of artists I like are as below:

サカナクション、椎名林檎、宇多田ヒカル、嶋野百恵、中島美嘉、Salyu, Beverly(ビバリー), Hiromi(pianist)。

From time to times I do stick into the melody but mostly I do love groooovy music like funk, R&B, Hip-hop

Here are some of other artists I like :

- D'Sound (once I met them in person in Norway and had a lunch together! it was just just..unbelievably happy moment!)
- Red Hot Chili Peppers
- DNCE
- Bruno Mars
- John Mayer
- Nujabes
- Nora Johns

Since my hobby is playing electric guitar I also into some guitarist as belows :

Stevie Ray Vaughan
Doug Aldrich
Larry Carlton
Eric Johnson
John Mayer
Tomo Fujita
Guthrie Govan
Robben Ford

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

(For healthy Korean male' ーphysically as well as mentallyーMilitary service is mandatory for almost 2 years.)
While I was serving military service I had a chance to experience Parachuting several times. At first I was a bit scary. Largely because I did aware of there were some accidents lead to the death during parachuting discipline. Then when I successfully complete my 4 weeks of that parachuting training, I started carving this moto of my battalion, which is 'You are gallant 707 special force soldiers, make impossible possible! '

Countries I’ve Visited

Algeria, Austria, China, Czech Republic, Denmark, England, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Hong Kong, Hungary, Italy, Japan, Latvia, Lithuania, Macao, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Russian Federation, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

Finland, South Korea

Join Couchsurfing to see Yoru’s full profile. It’s free!