Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 66% response rate
  • Last login 4 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see David’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 149 References 71 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French; learning Spanish
  • 41, Male
  • Member since 2007
  • sommelier/wine waiter/drunkenness provider/marchand d'ivr...
  • some university (French Literature after scientific bacca...
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Please note that my whatsapp number is +44 749 4053 790. Message me there for a more guaranteed answer, as I don't check CS everyday. you can also find me on FB: David Milliere, or davidmilliere@gmail.com, or facebook.com/davidsommelier.

CURRENT MISSION

Life is a journey. Travel it well.

ABOUT ME

Born in France (I am French: please write in French if you are French/French Speaker; I will consider you haven't read my profile if you are French/French Speaker and write in English, and you are very likely to get a negative answer, if ever I reply), I started to travel at 21, when I lived in London, where I was an au pair in a British family. Then I worked there as a bicycle messenger for two and a half years. I did the same job in Paris for a year, and even in Philadelphia for a couple of weeks! I then worked in tourism, in France and in The Netherlands, which allowed me to travel even more. Now I have been working as a sommelier (wine director) for almost ten years: one in Paris, one and half in Atlanta, which I loved, and now a new life is just starting in Prague (june 2008)!!
Update (August 2009): now I have been living in Brussels, Belgium, and enjoying it so far!
Update (August 2010): I have now been living in New Delhi, and loving it!
Update (october 2011): I have now been living in Bangkok for a couple of weeks, and loving it!
update june 2013: now living in Phuket...
Update December 2014: I am now living in Gstaad, Switzerland, until at least March 2015.
Update June 2015: I am now in the Alps, near the town of Gap.
Update February 2016: I have now been living in London, UK, for a few months.

PHILOSOPHY
Taking it easy, trying to make a lot of friends, never being bored (nor boring), always going for new adventures or destinations, living, staying away from trouble..

Happiness is real when shared...

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Traveling, hosting, meeting people, eventually helping doing some translation if I'm asked. Writing. Being happy and friendly. :-)))

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

lots of informal (i e not through the net) couch surfing in my younger years, specially when I was a bicycle messenger in London, taking part into internationl cycle messengers events.
More recently, in July 2007, in San Francisco, which I loved, a couple of cs experiences, and above all I met a lot of Csurfers!
In Prague, already a lot of Csurfers tested my sofa-bed within a few weeks: from Canada, Bulgaria, the States, India/Germany, Denmark, China, Honk Kong, Slovenia, etc.
In Brussels, quite a few interesting CS events: a CS living room concert was organized in my apartment (see photos)!
In Delhi, I had drinks/dinners with a few surfers too!
update (oct 2011) in Bangkok: met one local couchsurfer for coffee already :)

Interests

Meeting new people, socializing, doing sport (soccer, road cycling, running, working out), reading (specially about wine), going to the movies, hiking, nature, wine (which is my job also, since I'm a sommelier), contemplating, (day) dreaming, doing nothing, doing a lot... lots of things in fact!

  • writing
  • concerts
  • dining
  • wine
  • coffee
  • running
  • working out
  • drinking
  • movies
  • reading
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • surfing
  • snowboarding
  • sports
  • soccer
  • tourism
  • au-pair

Music, Movies, and Books

Books: A Year In Provence, by Robert Mayle: Very funny and witty, absolutely well written. Le Petit Prince, The Alchemist, 99 Francs, Camus, Buddha Geoff and Me, Shantaram, L'ete Meurtrier, Thinking in Numbers (Daniel Tammet), etc. Music: any kind, from classical to rock, jazz, RnB, salsa, etc: Mozart, Thelonius Monk, Jamiroquai, Schubert, Chopin, Charles Mingus, The Jackson Five, Motown stuff, Serge Gainsbourg, Hiromi Uehara, Karla Blay, Steve Lacy, Miles Davis, etc Movie: Seven Years in Tibet, The Big Blue, Betty Blue, Subway, Casablanca, Borat, 28 Days Later, The Night of the Hunter, Un Dimanche a la Campagne, L'Homme qui aimait les Femmes, Tirez sur le pianiste, etc. I'm usually very eclectic!

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Snowboarding in Greece. Solar eclipse in London. Wine director for a group of 4 high end restaurants in Prague. Seen another guy getting out of my mother's belly 5 minutes after me. He is still alive. He's my twin.
Sommelier in 7 different countries so far (and more if I count the short experiences), and counting...

Teach, Learn, Share

Teach: some stuff about wine? How to maintain a bicycle?

Share: food, wine, laughters, good moments, etc etc

What I Can Share with Hosts

See above.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Canada, Czech Republic, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Laos, Malaysia, Morocco, Netherlands, Poland, Slovakia, Spain, Switzerland, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Belgium, Czech Republic, France, India, Switzerland, Thailand, United Kingdom, United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    12 Vouches
  • Pioneer 9e5c6d07410be6ad972e78858727f5a200c4ebab1f9bb897eb4d7cbee90959a8
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see David’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups