Zara Maun's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 50% response rate
  • Last login 9 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Zara’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 12 References 11 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English
  • 30, Female
  • Member since 2013
  • Pharmaceutical worker / Designer
  • Degree in interactive and motion graphic design.
  • From London, England, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Hi! I'm Zara, I'm from South West London and I've lived in Sheffield for about 10 years now, I live with my girlfriend Lindsey who is from Sheffield. We are both dog walkers and also run a handmade dog product business.

Sheffield is probably one of the friendliest places in the country. It really is a city where you need a good guide as there's so many hidden places. Sheffield people aren’t the most pro-active on trip advisor!
Wherever you are in Sheffield you're only a stones throw away from the countryside, what's better than a Sunday stroll in the Peak District!

I love art, photography and design. My other main passion is for food and my kitchen is slowly trying to divorce me because I can't stop buying kitchen gadgets. I'm a pescetarian, please don't bring meat into my house without asking before.

I would consider myself as sociable, positive and open. I love learning new things, I have a really terrible memory and I'm stupidly bad at other languages (sorry).

**Please Note**
We have three over friendly dogs and a dwarf Russian hamster. The do not have much hair but if you are not comfortable with dogs this is not the house for you, they are very giddy and will want to come near you.
I would like to stress that my house is not a hotel, couchsurfing for me is about sharing experiences and knowledge.
At the moment as we are self employed we are very busy, it is quite difficult to fit hosting into our schedule at the moment however we are more than happy to meet for coffee/walk/drinks etc.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I love meeting new people, you can miss a lot of what a city has to offer if you don't meet any locals.

Interests

Art, design, antiques, food, cycling and film (especially from the 60s&70s sci fi and horror).
I particularly like Constructivism and the Dada movement, etchings, satirical illustrations, the arts and crafts period, contemporary art and kitsch movement paintings amongst many other things.

I collect many things, I have a lot of hand thrown pottery, comics, illustrations, etchings, Punch Magazines, textiles, antiquarian books and cameras.

  • dogs
  • arts
  • books
  • design
  • graphic design
  • photography
  • illustrations
  • dining
  • cooking
  • pub crawls
  • crafts
  • boating
  • comics
  • pottery
  • cycling
  • sailing
  • bike polo
  • swimming
  • teaching
  • freelancing
  • languages

Music, Movies, and Books

I love Harryhausen films and 70s horror films. I like dystopian sci fi's and I'm quite partial to a crime drama.
I read mainly non-fiction books, I like to learn while I read.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

To be honest I'm easily amazed.
Learning to sail a boat and then swimming in Nile was pretty ace!

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach you how to cook British food, our food is amazing and doesn't deserve all its bad press. Or maybe you want try your hand at some art, anyone can create with a good teacher! I can teach you about the local ales too. If you like film or art I can direct you to one of our great independent cinemas or art spaces.

What I Can Share with Hosts

A place to stay in a relaxed household with added dog cuddles. I can show you the local city or the Peak District. If you like ale you are at an advantage as we have a great selection of pubs and breweries here. If you like charity shops or car boots then you're always welcome to come with me for a hunt for treasure.

Please note that I like to spend time and socialise with my guests and my house is not suitable for people looking just for a place to sleep.

Countries I’ve Visited

Algeria, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Egypt, England, Estonia, Finland, France, Gibraltar, Greece, Guernsey, Hungary, Ireland, Isle of Man, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Morocco, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Scotland, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sudan, Sweden, Switzerland, Tunisia, Turkey, United Kingdom, Wales, Western Sahara

Join Couchsurfing to see Zara’s full profile. It’s free!